Fuel Up Your Steem Engine with a Maqui Berry Banana Smoothie!

in #recipe8 years ago (edited)

If you're looking to add Steem Power to your wallet then it'll certainly help you to fuel up your own engine first, which is why you must try the Maqui Berry Banana Smoothie recipe below! I know, I know... most of you are probably wondering "what the hell is maqui berry?" right? Not to worry. I didn’t have a clue as to what maqui was, either, until fairly recently when I stumbled upon it at my local health food store here in southern Chile. And let me tell you, I’m SO glad I did!!!

In a nutshell, maqui is a dark purple berry that grows in the wild rainforests of the Patagonia region in Chile and Argentina, and is known to be the most potent antioxidant fruit on the planet. You read that right. According to the Medical News Today, the ORAC value (a system for measuring antioxidants) of the maqui berry was 4 to 30 times higher than the average acai berry, making it an incredibly abundant source of anthocynanins and polyphenols (as well as an excellent source of vitamin C, iron, calcium, and potassium). This free-radical fighting champion has been harvested and used by the local Mapuche Native Americans for centuries due to its numerous health benefits, including:

  • cardiovascular health
  • anti-diabetic effects
  • anti-inflammatory effects
  • anti-bacterial effects
  • weight management
  • immunity boost
  • increased metabolism

In short, this stuff is amazing! I was a bit skeptical at first but after taking it for a few days I couldn't ignore the powerful surge of energy that I received shortly after consuming it. If you had seen me on my third day of taking this stuff, you’d understand (let’s just say I went through a cleaning-frenzy of my entire home that would put a tweaker to shame, and still had plenty of energy to spare for numerous other tasks). I highly recommend the Isla Natura brand which you can order on Amazon. It’s 100% organic and harvested by the local Mapuches in Chile.

So, without further ado, here’s a simple yet delicious smoothie recipe that I'm sure you'll enjoy!

Maqui Berry Banana Smoothie (makes 2 large servings)

2¼ cups coconut milk (boxed variety) or soy/almond milk
2 medium size bananas
1 tsp Isla Natura maqui powder
1 Tbsp chia/flax seeds
2-3 dates (or any sweetener of your choice)
1/2 cup ice cubes

Just toss it in a blender until smooth and serve.

Sort:  

Yum! I try to drink a smoothie every day.

Sure wish I could get Maqui berries up here...pretty cool that they grow at the property.

Lucky for you, they're available on Amazon! :) Check it out: https://www.amazon.com/Isla-Natura-Organic-Powder-supply/dp/B0055ALE0U/ref=pd_sim_121_3?ie=UTF8&dpID=41jyni2VLML&dpSrc=sims&preST=AC_UL160_SR107%2C160&psc=1&refRID=9ABVGM8937YJQ71E9CHZ It is cheaper down here, though. I paid around $14 for the same quantity.

I agree, I think it's SUPER that it grows on the Fort Galt property along with other awesome berries! :-D We're gonna be some healthy mofos...

Good for you! And yeah, it's very yum! ^_^ I've tried different variations of smoothies with this stuff but the banana version is my favorite by far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54