Mini Meatballs with creamy gravysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! This week I'm coming at you with some mini meatballs. I don't know how accurate it is, but we call them swedish meatballs where I am from. I have no idea if they are swedish or not, but we say it anyways. They are usually served with lingonberry jam and potatoes. Lingonberry jam is really hard to get a hold of, but luckily it is basically identical to cranberry sauce, so I went with that. You may be apprehensive over a fruit spread in with meatballs, but I am telling you, the sweet balances so well with the meat and the lightly creamy sauce. If all goes well, your finished product will look like this:

IMG_20171019_153501.jpg

Ingredients for the Balls

  • 1/2 onion
  • butter
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of breadcrumbs (I could only find italian seasoned, so I omitted the other spices)
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • S & P
  • 1lb pork
  • 1lb beef

Ingredients for the Sauce

  • more butter
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 3 cups of beef broth
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup of heavy cream
  • 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce.

IMG_20171019_123658.jpg

Making the meat mix

  • dice an onion, cook in butter until translucent and slightly caramelized
  • yell at your roommate for not cleaning the cooktop like he said he would

IMG_20171019_122834.jpg

  • put onions, flour, breadcrumbs, milk, eggs into a bowl. Mix until combined

IMG_20171019_123831.jpg

IMG_20171019_123907.jpg

  • add the meat, mix, cover and put in the fridge for an hour

IMG_20171019_124314.jpg

  • study for your french quiz
  • preheat oven to 400 F (about 205 for the Euros out there)
  • put foil on a baking tray, roll out small equally sized balls of your meat mix and place them on the tray.

IMG_20171019_143613.jpg

  • put em in the oven for about 20-25 minutes (or browned)
  • allow to rest for 5 minutes or so while you work on the sauce.

The Sauce
is very simple, it is a roux plus cream and beef stock basically

  • to make a rue you melt the butter, toss in the flour and mix until golden brown. This mix with thicken the sauce.

IMG_20171019_140644.jpg

  • add the stock, Worcestershire sauce, salt, and pepper

IMG_20171019_140933.jpg

  • add the cream, S&P

IMG_20171019_141517.jpg

  • reduce to about 1/2 its volume and thickened

IMG_20171019_142100.jpg

  • place the meatballs in the pan with the sauce and mix for a few minutes until the meatballs are warmed through.

IMG_20171019_151901.jpg

  • the best way to enjoy this is with lingonberry/cranberry sauce and some boiled potatoes if you would like. I just halved 2 small potatoes and boiled them until fork tender and dressed with S, P, butter, and some dill. This meal is a knockout and all I can say is that I am happy that my roommate was out of town over the weekend, so I could enjoy all of it myself. I would love to hear what you guys would like to see. And if you make this, tell me how it went!

IMG_20171019_153501.jpg

See you in the next one.

Sort:  

Yummy, it looks delicious! Does it taste as good as it looks? Would you do anything different next time?

You definitely need to put these all together in a book format once you have enough :-)

maybe I will! thanks for that idea.

This looks so delish! I may need to try it!

I hope you do, and tell me how it went

They do look tasty, and I especially like the use of dill. In my opinion, dill is under-used these days.

People stick cilantro on so many things (and I hate cilantro)...

But dill? That's right up my alley. Cool to see it.

I also liked the roommate jab as part of the recipe (don't forget to yell at your roommate)... these hidden easter eggs of a joke are nice to come across.

One thing though, the page took awhile to load for me, and I didn't know why at first. Until I looked at it. Your images are at 1.5 megabyte each, and when you add up a bunch, this page is more than 12 megabytes to load and display.

If you run some of them through webresizer.com to optimize them (or take them with a lower resolution your camera/phone) your blog page with a lot of pictures will load a lot faster.

Anyway RoofCore, love the recipe. I even bookmarked it in my browser. :)

much appreciated my man. I have to flex a bit of my slavic roots with the dill and potatoes. I do think cilantro tastes like soap as well so I am glad to find a fellow hater. I try to keep it light and funny when possible so I am glad it was received well. Thanks for the tip about the resizer, I forget that my phone captures in HDR 4k with no compression. That will certainly cut down on size :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71