[Struggle Plate] How I docked up Tuna Helper Pasta that came out Fantastic

in #recipes8 years ago

Hey guys,

I had some Tuna Helper Cheesy noodle casserole box dinner and a single pouch of Tuna. I also had a little almond milk and Margarine...the box calls for two cans of drained tuna, real milk, and butter or margarine.

It was one of those meals where I didn't have much else so and I was going to be the only one eating it as my other half wasn't going for it whatsoever. I figured it would be fine to just throw it together and finish it off now because I probably wasn't going to eat it otherwise. So with the almond milk and the margarine I pushed onward. (I was also short by about 2/3rds of a can of tuna as it wants 10 OZ but my single pouch was just under 7. No biggie right? Wrong - it cooked down as directed and was watery, the margarine and almond milk wouldn't bind together with the sauce packet - there was a thin coating of margarine sitting on top of the liquid mess after I finished cooking it. But I decided not to give up.

To Fix this Blunder here is what I did:

I added

  • Taco Seasoning
  • Pepper
  • Garlic Power

Once I did that It all seemed to thicken the sauce ...though it was still watery, to top it off I also decided to add in some left over spaghetti noodles mentioned in another post. I don't know how but those noodles together with that seasoning made it come out fantastic! The sauce was rich and thicker. Now it tastes like a chili cheese tuna noodle bowl. Hoping this post will help others who have struggle plates to make theirs even better. I'm going to go on and continue the rest of my meal. What was the last struggle plate you had that you turned around to become something awesome? Wanna talk about it below?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59