Egg Salad

in #recipes5 years ago

Egg salad is one of those things that I love to eat, but I almost never make. It's one of those simple, homey meals that is a lunch staple everyone should know how to make.

If you don't have whole seed dijon mustard on hand, you can substitute for yellow mustard, although I am a firm believer in those little mustard seeds ability to transform both texture and taste.

Our potato masher must have gotten lost in transit in the last move, so when faced with the need to smash the eggs, I substituted in a beater from an electric masher, and it worked fantastically. I used a firm twist and smash method that broke the eggs apart while still leaving behind some yummy egg bits and not completely obliterating it to a mush.

Ingredients:

  • 8 boiled eggs, chopped into quarters
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon whole seed Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 tablespoons chopped scallions
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
  1. Place the boiled eggs in a large, sturdy bowl and mash with potato masher (or beater attachment, as I did).
  2. Add mayonnaise, mustard, paprika, scallions, garlic salt, and pepper and stir with a fork to evenly distribute.
    Egg salad is best served between two slices of lightly toasted whole grain toast.

Sort:  

This is delicious! Another keeper. Thanks

Love this recipe — I added red onions, celery and diced pickles

My egg salad is simpler.

4 eggs.
1/4 cup mayo
1/8 cup finely chopped onions
1/4 habanero pepper chopped
mustard to taste (often very, very light)
pinch of salt
optional: 1/4 tomato (very ripe) and/or 4 or so finely diced hamburger dill pickles

I normally eat this as a sandwich. The strong onion is necessary in face of the chopped habanero.

Ahh it's my favourite recipe :)

I love egg salad. My wife usually makes it with tomato soup. I like the scallion addition. That just makes sense. I dont know why I havent been eating egg salad with scallions. I'm going to have to start

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62