Fried Green Bananas

in #recipes6 years ago

Green Bananas

My brother acquired a crate of the greenest bananas I've ever seen. Since there's no way he'll ever eat that many bananas, he sent me a few bunches. We really don't eat that many bananas, and we don't eat much banana bread, except for Christmas time when my Grandma makes it. So, I had to find a way to deal with all of these green bananas!

rsz_1530654857631.jpg

The first thing I did was cut the bananas in half long ways and then each half I cut into thirds one ways.
rsz_1530654908669.jpg

Then I situated the banana pieces in oil heated over fairly high heat, making sure they weren't touching. I browned them on each side being very careful while turning them, they do soften up.
rsz_1530654939060.jpg

I had heard that fried green bananas turn out just like french fries. Well, they don't want I for I am. But they are a delicious treat. I just sprinkled them with a little bit of sea salt and everyone seemed to enjoy them!
rsz_1530654970991.jpg

If you try this out, let me know!

One More Thing!

Please check out my Circle the Wagons post to help out a couple fellow Steemians and enter for your chance to with a share in Steem Basic Income or Dustsweeper services.

1530656153466.jpg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Hmmm never heard of cooking them that way in oil. I use butter, sugar and orange juice then cook the bananas in that and add on ice cream.

Oh, for the love of yum!

LOL think instant sugar coma!

Oh neat! This is a lot like fried platanos, which is something my husband's family makes from time to time. Platanos are basically large, green bananas, and I always wondered if you could do the same with regular green bananas. Now I know! :D

Hey! I haven't seen you around much lately!

I've never had plantanos, I don't think I've seen them around here, but maybe I just wasn't looking... But the green bananas are great.

I havent seen you much either! I thought you were gone, but I saw you have been active lately. I suppose I have followed so many people it is hard to see everyone in my feed...

I know! I only have so many hours a day to scroll through my feed and read. I know I'm missing a ton!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03