Chocolate Raspberry Jam (With Canning Instructions)

in #recipes6 years ago

IMG_6719.jpg

Decadent and luxurious this is a really neat recipe for the winter pantry.

I was flipping through my favourite recipe book for ideas on how to preserve some of the raspberry bounty and this recipe jumped right out at me. I had never thought about canning something with chocolate in it before.

This is not a low sugar, low calorie treat but around here we are ok with indulging in sinful treats once in a while. I'll admit, the odd spoonful on some toast or frozen yoghurt sounds like a good idea to me.

I didn't follow the instructions exactly and it turned out really nice so I'll walk you through the recipe I came up with. The recipe is based on one from a book called Mes Confitures. The French method of canning often involves inverting the jars to seal them and I don't do that. I seal my jars using a water bath. I'll share instructions for canning with the recipe.

The recipe also suggested cooking the raspberries and running them through a food mill. I know a lot of people don't have one handy so I adapted the recipe to accommodate every day kitchens. You can use an every day mesh strainer and spoon instead!

IMG_6603.jpg

Chocolate Raspberry Jam Recipe

Ingredients

2-3/4 lbs raspberries
3 - 1/2 cups organic cane sugar
Juice of one lemon
9 ounces bitter-sweet chocolate (65% cocoa or higher) chips or grated

IMG_6698.jpg

Instructions

  • For the best flavours use raspberries that have been freshly picked that morning. Avoid rinsing them and instead carefully pick over them to make sure you don’t have any debris. Rinsing them will diminish their fragrance.

  • Wash your jars with hot water and soap and set aside. Prepare your canner and heat it up. Place a saucer in the freezer.

  • Combine the raspberries, raspberries, sugar and lemon in your preserving pan and simmer until soft.

  • Pour the mixture through a fine mesh strainer and rub and stir the pulp until all you have left in the strainer are seeds.

IMG_6699.JPG

  • Add the mixture to a clean pan and stir in the chocolate. Cook on hight heat for 10 minutes (careful not to burn). Stir gently but frequently. Check the set and cook longer if necessary.

To check the set, remove the plate from the freezer and spoon some of the jam onto the plate. Wait a minute or two and then run your finger through the jam. This will show you the consistency you should expect when it sets.

  • When you are happy with the consistency of the ham ladle the mixture into your jars leaving 1/4" head space, wipe the rims clean, place the warmed lids and the rings on the jars and carefully set them into the canner.

  • Following your canners instructions process the jars for ten minutes. Turn off the heat and carefully remove the lid. Let the jars cool for 10 minutes and then using a jar lifter carefully lift them and place them on a cutting board or towel to cool completely.

  • Once the jars have cooled for 24 hours, check their seal. You should hear the occasional pinging sound as they are cooling that gives you an auditory confirmation that your jars have sealed. If you look at the lid of the jar, you should notice that there is a small bump in the lids. This bump depresses as the jars seal “sucking it down”. All of the lids should be sucked down. If you press on the center of the lid and that bump pops up, they are not sealed properly. If you should have an issue with a jar not sealing, refrigerate it and eat within a few weeks.

  • Remove the metal rings and wipe the lids and jars with a damp clean cloth. Store the jars without the rings or replace them but don't tighten and keep in a cool dark place.

IMG_6715.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

Yummy...
Definitely going to try this
So excited

Hope you like it! :)

If you should have an issue with a jar not sealing, refrigerate it and eat within a few weeks.

I can't imagine that jam lasting more than a few days here! LOL They love jam and chocolate, so that is a win-win!

So long as you can send them outside to run all of that sugar off! I felt guilty sharing such a sugary concoction but ... it was such a cool idea!

The kids in the compound simply live outdoors. Rain or shine they like to play outside.

That is so awesome! There really is nothing better! :)

Wow! That sounds really delicious.
I'm definitely going to try that one day.
Thanks for this delicious tip, @walkerland.

thanks @simplymike! I am feeling guilty for making such a sugary treat when we eat so healthy but I could not resist. Everything in moderation right?

I couldn't agree more. Everyone has a right to have some guilty pleasures, lol

Have you ever tried it with blackberries? We have quite a lot we need to get rid of, and they are too sour to just eat them...

This was the first time that I've made this recipe so no ...have not tried it with blackberries. If you do make it let me know what you think because our blackberries will be ripening soon and I'll need ideas.

I do have one recipe bookmarked for blackberries that looks really tempting. I think I'll give it a try this year. It might be a perfect way to use your sour blackberries. https://www.freshpreserving.com/blackberries-in-framboise---ball-recipes-br1253.html

That one sounds delicious too.
I'll let you know what we'll end with and how it went :0

Oh, oh! She's gone and posted another one I have to make!!! LOL I saw it mentioned in a previous post, and thought, geez, lucky guy!

Chocolate is my downfall.....

oh well, you'll have to give this a try to see what you think! :) It sure looks pretty on the pantry shelf.

Oh, drool... LOL I bet it's just lovely on the shelf, for as long as it lasts there... :))

This sounds really interesting and delicious. Have you tried any yet? If so, how did you like it?

it is quite tasty but a little sweet for me. I am not likely to eat it myself. I am not a big fan of chocolate though and prefer dark chocolate when I do eat it. Even so ...it tastes good! :)

This sounds so wonderful, I'm delighted you posted the recipe!! :)

I am glad to share it although it is a sugar bomb so you might regret making it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86