The Audio Files | Episode 4 - Don't Create Music for Critics


Don’t create music for critics.

Everyone is a critic. And in the world of critics, the music industry has fallen. Music is no longer about art, or passion. It’s about sales. Why do you write songs? Why do you record them and produce them? Sadly, many today have fallen captive to a marketing world, which with no hesitation I say, it has completely ruined the mainstream music scene. No longer does the artist explain himself through a beautiful song which he created, but he furthers the purpose of the label or sponsor to whom he is enslaved.

My Story.

When I first started playing music, I was enthralled with the sound! I borrowed an electric guitar from some family friends, and I was hooked! I loved it. I couldn’t lay it down. Day and night I played and played. Listening to my favorite songs, and trying to recreated them on that guitar was like heaven. I was absolutely in love. It wasn’t long however, before someone noticed my skills increasing and wanted to exploit them for their own purposes. As I grew in my craft, I was quickly sucked up by many different people who wanted me to play “for them”. I was naive enough that I still didn’t give up my craft for the sake of others. I still in love with my art form, and for that I am grateful.

Now let me stop right here and say, I have nothing against making money with your artistic abilities! I am all for it actually! I just think that the pendulum has swung too far to one side, where it seems that a lot, if not most are in it to make a buck, rather than to express themselves through said art. I mean, there is only one you! You are a creative person! You have been given the ability and couple with you hard work, you have sharpened that ability. I think that too many artists are worried about what other people think about their art, instead of presenting themselves through the art.

True Art.

Take a look at a child’s drawing. They are simple, but yet in some amazing way, brilliant. There is nothing special about the style of art, except for the fact that the person, in this case the child, who created it couldn’t care less what the audience thought of it. And now let’s take a moment and address the parents out there. This moment, when your child presents their art to you, is the most important moment in your parenting career! How you respond to your child can make or break them as an artist. Is your child’s art as good as professional art? I would say YES! Every professional was a child at some point, and they drew very similar pictures to those that your child is drawing. It is important to encourage the artistic desire rather than reprimand it for not being as “good” as someone else.

This is why the art world is stifled today. Too many competitions and critiques, that the artist can’t just be free with their art. It is the exact same in the music world. Producers have become agents for a label, who have been given a specific job, which is to make as much money as possible. Now I know that not all producers work in such ways, and that is the light at the end of the tunnel. But the sad truth is, it doesn’t take much of an ear to hear the lack of quality in today's top 40. Back in the day people were talented! Today, they are pretty. Why the change? Sex sells. It’s a simple as that. The average person today would rather look at a pretty person sing with a mediocre voice, that listen to a rather homely person doing with an excellent voice. Video really did kill the radio star!

So what do we do.

We are surrounded by a culture that wants a specific thing. We can choose to give them what they want, or….. we could choose to take a risk and possibly give them more than they ever imagined! Art is about risk. It is vulnerable. It’s scary. Good art is edgy and original. That’s the key to unlocking the mystery of what makes a good musician. Anyone can recreate someone else song. But how good is that person at creating a new style? Creating a new melody? I know that most melodies have probably been thought of before, but that’s the beauty of music. That's the reason it's the universal language! Your melody connects with someone half-way across the world because it’s their melody too! What a beautiful thing!

Conclusion.

The answer to this problem is this. We cannot let what the mainstream public wants, determine what we as the artists create. We must stick to our guns and take the risk! You have been given an artistic ability for one reason, and that reason is to use it, not snuff it out by copying a mediocre movement. It’s time to create a new movement! Let’s bring back the passion and talent that once populated the airwaves of the entire world. Let’s make some music!

Be sure to visit my Podcast site!

https://mitchhouston.com/theaudiofiles

Also.... Head over and support the show by purchasing some KILLER T-Shirts!

https://mitchhouston.com/shop/

Sort:  

Hello @mitchhouston! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @mitchhouston! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60