Song of the Day - Stravinsky "Jeu de Cartes"

in #recordpool6 years ago

This is my submission for @recordpool, Song of the Day.

It has been a while since I've listened to any Stravinksy. Stravinsky is a composer that was most famed for causing a riot with his piece "Rite of Spring". However, I find that that work is not particular representative of his output.

One of my favourite pieces is this "Jeu de Cartes", which is a 3 movement (3 card hands) symphonic suite distilled from one of his ballets. It is also quite special to me, as it it was the first piece that I ever played in an orchestra! A very very long time ago!

Each "card hand" (musical movement) represents a different scene in a card game (poker?). In the ballet, the main character is the Joker, who see himself as unbeatable due to his ability to become any other card in the deck. The story revolves around the epic battles of the cards, with winners being chosen from amongst the high and low value cards.

Listening to it again, it really brings back good memories!

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS

Sort:  


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Great song choice

Thanks for dropping by and listening!

Oh, was this specially for me ;-)

Ok, I'll correct my original statement to "I hate Rite of Spring". Maybe not hate, strongly dislike will do. This was much more accessible and enjoyable. As a piece to listen to, it wouldn't particularly do it for me, but if someone else was playing it, that would be fine. I think I would enjoy it a lot more in the context of the original ballet though, as the visual interpretation would help me understand the story and appreciate it more.

Thanks!

Yes, I forgot to tag you! I have one more that might be intersting as well, but I'll post it later... It is an unusual piece, and the story is probably better represented with the ballet and visuals. I think Rite of Spring (whilst being decent) is overhyped as the "riot causing" piece...

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.86% upvote!
I was summoned by @bengy. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I usually just post memes. LOL

Hi @c-squared,

Whilst I'm very grateful for the resteem and support, I'm not sure that this particular post of mine is really curation worthy! On the other hand, this long form article would be more suited!

https://steemit.com/music/@bengy/breaking-down-the-eras-of-classical-music

But thanks anyway!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70