Late Night Tunes // Caribou - Cant Do Without You / Daphni - Yes I Know // Steemit Record Pool

in #recordpool6 years ago (edited)

It's saturday night/Sunday morning and you're ready to get out and cut loose, or you're looking for some tunes to keep the party going?
Then I have something for you here.

Caribou - Cant Do Without You (Extended Version)

It took me about 10 seconds into his song Odessa when a friend played it for me and I knew I was gonna dig this guys music.
Caribou is in my opinion one of the most original, interesting and innovative producers around. Alongside people like Bonobo and Jamie XX probably my favorite electronic producer. Every album he comes out with is different, but they're all awesome.
With his latest album from 2014 Our Love he has created an album filled with songs that are perfect for those late nights and underground clubs. It has some great songs on it I regularly play at parties and they never fail to deliver. Songs like Can't do without you, Our Love and Your Love Wil Set You Free, will be playing in clubs and late-night house party basements for sure.
In case this guy has somehow managed to stay under your radar, I highly recommend you check him out.

He also produces music under his alter ego Daphni, Yes I know is from his album Jiaolong, released under the alter Ego Daphni in 2012 and it is still a party favorite of mine. Check out the album here

Daphni - Yes I Know

Here are two of his earlier songs Odessa I mentioned earlier and Sun.


I just saw that Pitchfork released his full show of 2015 on their youtube channel and by the looks of it, it‘s even better live than on record. I haven‘t yet had a chance to see him live unfortunately. But maybe I get enough steem dollars here one day to get me a ticket:)

You can get Caribou's music on bandcamp
or check him out on soundcloud

(Image Source)

Sort:  

Yo, this is excellent. I am a huge Bonobo fan and have been listening to Caribou for a bit now. I am currently working with some people who contribute to Odessa's work. Dig your taste.

Thx. That must be awesome, What are you working on?

My band Kindred Bay's new album. We're almost done. We had their trombonist play on a track for us. It was a lot of fun.

I bet.
Maybe you can post something from your band on dsound would love to hear it.

The label we are on is waiting for an account approval. Then we are putting our EP up. But the new album is on it's way. We do plan on doing a lot here on Steemit.

Absolute beauty worth revisiting. Good post!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

Great choice! Bonobo and Jamie XX (see my last recordpool post!) are huge inspirations for me and Caribou is definitely also an artist I listen a lot to. I've listened to some Daphni recently as well, but somehow I can't get into that much..

Yeah Daphni isn't for everyone...it's pretty drum heavy and I think inspired a lot by african rhythms, but I like that sort of stuff:)

True, I do like the experimentation with the drums though. I'm always trying to find original ways to incorporate drums into my tracks, so in that sense there's so much to learn from Daphni!

Love Caribou, Bonobo, Four Tet... I'll be watching for you, wherever the music plays.

Music, Music and More Music. That's my style!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80