FUN WITH ROADKILL - VOLUME 2

in #recycling6 years ago

Roadkill is hard to see.


A beautiful animal that was pulverized when a vehicle slammed into, left to rot and decay alongside the road. Then, to make matters worse, the carcass encourages other animals to come near the road, mostly scavengers, which then have a greater potential to turn into roadkill themselves. Not a good situation.

This is the second post in an ongoing series. If you missed the introduction, you can read the full post by clicking HERE. If you just want to check out the INTRODUCTION VIDEO, here it is.

WHITETAIL BUCK

Recently, I saw a rather large whitetail buck that had been struck by a vehicle lying in the ditch when I was driving with my daughter, Pinkie-Pepper. I saw some antlers on it, so we turned around to look. Animals this big that are already bloated are not exactly pleasant to deal with. Besides trying to move them further from the road to avoid more roadkill from the scavengers the carcass will attract, there is not an incredibly large amount of things you can do with large roadkill that is past its prime.

However, any antlers that the deer has should be easy enough to remove without getting yourself completely disgusting. When I looked around at the available resources I had in the truck, I noticed my portable drill. Though this may not be your first choice in a situation like this, it certainly can get the job done.

For the more ambitious roadkill recycler who has a tough saw handy, one could just cut off the whole head and use it to make a skull mount like the one pictured above.

This deer had already lost one of its antlers in the accident (most likely) so a skull mount wouldn't have been a good idea for this one anyway. By drilling a few holes at the base of the antler, I was able to remove the one that was still attached.

FUN WITH ROADKILL 2 - WHITETAIL BUCK VIDEO

POTENTIAL USES FOR ANTLERS

Antlers are often used to create some interesting furniture, especially in places like the Ozarks where people enjoy the "rustic" look. Chandeliers like the one pictured above are a common sight, as are lampstands and other pieces. I might end up using this one as a hat rack or coat rack. If I had a pair, it could make a good gun rack or a holding for fishing poles.

Another interesting use for an antler is to make a knife handle from it. The one in the photo here was a gift from a friend of mine that he made himself. In the past, I've also worn one on a necklace, but these days I prefer to wear a knife.

Anyway, whatever you choose to do or not with the roadkill that you encounter, be safe out there, watch for animals crossing the street, and keep being creative.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-roadkill-can-be-useful



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Creative and useful :-)

Creative and useful...yeah...

Oh damn, when I read the title I thought you were going to run over a few animals and make a post about it. Glad to see that I was wrong!

Yeah, I don't have a dash-cam yet, and even if I did....

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.35$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Creative...and useful

Waste not/Want not.

Nice pap pepper 😂

poor animals really pity his fate.

I can't imagine going out like that.

iya @papa-pepper i am very sad to see the picture, i may ask help @papa-pepper please visit my blog because i really need help from you, thank you.

Quite interesting to know that antlers of a deer can provide stuffs for knife handles and other crafts. Thanks man @papa-pepper

Yeah, I think it is interesting. Thanks @kevaton!

It was a cool idea to have it recycled yet I am so sad for the roadkill. I hope we can lessen it though. Yet, I was truly amazed with you idea. haha . You are a cool and creative guy indeed. :D

How I wish you can visit my posts as well. Haha

I am glad that you liked it! Thanks for the encouragement.

Cool vidio my friend.. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55