The Saga Of One Determined Recycled Find Repair With The Most Unlikely Culprit Of All Time - AAAHHHH!!

in #recycling4 years ago (edited)

This is a different post that usual, but it'll help you get some detailed insight into my recycling repair projects. It's not always easy... This particular one really bugs me, but I learned a lot.


In November I found a $400 used Fujitsu scanner right outside my apartment on my way back from the grocery store. I also took one of several computers from the bags and sold that untested for an easy $80 cash. The computer was found and sold on the same street. I like that efficiency.

Proof of the finds:

Proof of scanner value:


Here's the timeline of what happened:

  • Tested for initial power with a generic power supply since it wasn't with the scanner outside. The LCD came on, but I quickly unplugged it to avoid any damage for a mismatched power supply. Not fried. Good start.
  • Ordered the original replacement power supply part for $21.76. Part arrived, normal power, no errors!
  • Bought a new USB 3.0 cable on eBay for $6.53 to help sell the item as a bundle package since it had a 3.0 port. I found out later that a USB 2.0 plug would've also worked.
  • Downloaded drivers for Mac, but I couldn't get it to be recognized as a device on my computer no matter what I did.
  • Downloaded drivers for PC on a gaming desktop I found outside and hacked to get Admin access. Same issue as above.
  • Called Fujitsu customer service and we realized that the USB 3.0 power is physically broken inside.
  • Removed the PCB circuit board from the unit and stashed the device away for later.
  • Ordered 2 new USB ports from China on eBay for $2.87. These took over 1 month to arrive.
  • Called computer repair shops to ask if they'll desolder the original and solder in a new 11-pin USB 3.0 port. Everyone declined because they don't work on "scanners." Damn it.
  • Finally get a referral for a place that said they'll do it for $40-$50.
  • I realize that I have a soldering iron, the right solder, and flux to do this myself, so I tried to be a hero.
  • I fuck it up royally because I didn't have a desoldering braid which soaks up the old solder. The hardware stores were closed when I tried to do this, and I wasn't patient since I was excited to fix it after waiting over a month for the parts. I burned some small connectors, but it's fixable.
  • I go to the same repair shop I spoke with initially today and they fixed the board for $50 cash. This wasn't too bad since I learned a valuable lesson, but I really could've done this if I used a desoldering braid. Next time! I talked with the owner for a while and will go to him for future repairs since they did a great job restoring the tiny burned areas. The detailed patch work looks very interesting. He also offered me the opportunity to work with him to sell his massive stockpile of vintage electronics.
  • I eagerly reassembled the scanner tonight and plugged it in to my PC. It connects!!!! Saga over... right?
  • Total cost of parts and repairs = $81.16 to sell it for $400. I rarely invest in things like this, but these scanners sell like wildfire and $50 cash was my human error. I should've spent about $45 after the desoldering wire (a reasonable sum since about half was the power supply).

Here's the repair after my boneheaded attempt.

I understand exactly what he did, but just don't have the tools or expertise at this time. These are good skills to know to save and earn me a lot of $$ from the items I find outside.


Unforeseen issue: Dirty scanner sensor error!! But whhhhyyy?!?!

  • When I first opened the scanner in November, there was actually (cringe) a dead cockroach inside RIGHT ON TOP OF ONE OF THE SMALL EMBEDDED SCANNER SENSORS. I didn't think anything of it because I didn't know it was a sensor at the time, but can see now that it seemed to stain the special. UNBELIEVABLE.
  • This error wasn't displayed before I removed the circuit board and had it repaired, so I may have damaged the board where sensors are processed, but this is highly unlikely. I think this was just a doomed project once I got it connected to the computer.
  • I tried to clean it now with rubbing alcohol, as well as the other maintenance steps, but I can't get rid of the error. I actually think the damn bug that crawled into the indent where the sensor was corroded it. What are the odds? Zero?
  • The sensor is about $85 new, but I'm not going to move forward with that, just in case something else is also wrong. I've put the shovel down.
  • So what should've been a $400 sale, will now likely be a $140-$150 for parts/repair situation, where I'll be making a lame profit on my $81 expense. Regardless, I saved this from being destroyed. Someone will certainly buy this.

Good sensor?:

Bad sensor?:

Of all places for a bug to die and corrode... AAAAHHH!!


Lessons:

  • I did a good job troubleshooting and getting to the root cause, but I should've seen the broken port from the outside sooner. The break was subtle and didn't prevent me from plugging into it, but obvious enough for my eyes.
  • When you are patient for months, DO NOT rush at the finish line. Haste certainly makes waste. I was stupid because I was too focused on an instant $400 sale when it was listed.
  • Despite $50 cash spent on the repair, I now have an ideal "guy" that repairs all types of electronics I can go to for future projects. This will help me get maximum value on high end electronics I often part out as untested to parts/repair. His shop is incredibly awesome. They are ninjas.
  • I learned a lot about soldering and circuit board repair after watching tons of YouTube videos. It's super interesting stuff.
  • I lalso earned about desoldering braids and solder suckers. I also should've used a heat gun for these small pins, not a soldering iron.
  • USB 3.0 ports also double as USB 2.0 ports. This sounds simple, but I actually didn't realize this (why I bought a new 3.0 cable).

Next Steps:

  • As one more logical step, I'll disconnect and reconnect all wires inside here, shown just as I was reinstalling it. This is my last attempt because the error didn't appear before I tried to repair it. I didn't touch the sensors or drop the scanner, so there's a small something is a little loose.


This is my penance and therapy for my mistake. It'll sell and I won't "lose" any money, despite thinking that this was a sure bet to bring in more.

Thanks for reading my dramatic saga. Time to go outside at 3:15 AM to find some more.

@steemmatt

Link: Yes, I really found $3,100 from only two items w/in 10 minutes outside my home last week.

Sort:  

I see a reality tv show in your future, Matt.... LOL


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Maybe a crypto app where people can follow along and donate to my cause/buy some of the things first. Then show. As for reality, ironically me show would put meaning back into "reality" once again.

cool that you can practice some "home engineering" on those devices without too much pressure that you can destroy something and lose your money :)

good lecture, again ;)

Thanks. I've almost always successfully repaired things. In this case, I could've done it myself, but I rushed because I was excited. Rookie move. $50 lesson, but it'll pay itself forward. Thanks for following along again.

Good lessons learned, and maybe even better contacts made with the repair shop owner.

Was that a pun?? Nice one if so. Thanks for reading.

😀 - I missed the pun, the bits just fell into place.

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1200 posts. Your next target is to reach 1300 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

A lesson that life doesn't always go smoothly, but there's often a silver lining?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73