ADSactly Reflection: The art of giving without waiting...

in #reflection5 years ago


Source

The art of giving without waiting...

Hello, @adsactly readers

In life you have to be generous, not only with food, but also with gestures and words. We cannot be mean with what we have and what we give. Giving only what we have left over or do not need, is not giving or giving away, it is throwing away, discard. In these days when I was talking about resentment, I remembered how in this era, many people can be miserable and mean.

Last week, while riding a bus, a man got on and started asking for money. Among the things he said was that he had small children, that he was sick, and that before he went out to steal, he preferred to request. While the man was giving his speech, many people turned their faces with no intention of listening and even less of collaborating. In the end the man said that he would come by the seats to pick up the money. To be honest, no one gave money to the man, who got off the bus, blessing and thanking.


Source

I do not judge that people can feel apprehension of giving money in the street, nor that they are incredulous and even indifferent to the tragedy of others, many we have our own daily misfortunes. Likewise, I understand that in a country like Venezuela, where there is a shortage of cash, people may find it difficult to get rid of what they have or simply do not have to give. But what catches my attention is that the people who were on the bus did not respond to the greeting or blessing given by the man. As I write, I remember an old story that I share with you:

There was a man inside the house reading Psalm 70 when it began to rain. The Bible that was in his hands, put it in his lap for a while to see and hear how the storm fell. God in His infinite mercy brought rain for the fields that were thirsty and barren, hungry for rain, thought man. Even though there were sins and sinners, God still loved us. God is good, people are bad, he thought. He immediately interrupted his meditations. The rain and the external could not disturb his moment of encounter with God. He began again to read the psalm:

And let those who love your salvation always say: May God be great. I am afflicted and needy. Hurry to me, O God," read the man visibly affected.

Outside, the rain increased more and more, and the man read slowly as he drank a cup of hot coffee. The rain continued to scourge the roof of the house, when the man heard a knock on the door. He stopped reading, but at first he did not change his mind. He returned to the pages of the Bible, feeling anger at the interruption.

My mouth is full of your praise and your glory all day long. Do not reject me in the time of old age; do not forsake me when I lack strength.


Source

It hadn't been a minute, when they knocked on the door again insistently. The man lazily got up and went to the door. When he opened it, he found a man in rags, dirty and wet.

_ Let me pass, sir, I'm dying of cold," said the dirty homeless man, shaking and grinding his teeth.

The man looked at him from the door from top to bottom and thought: another stray sheep from the lord. But he said to him:

_ Forgive me, but I am at the hour of the reading of my prayer and your presence alone would hinder my service to God.

_ I will not disturb you. I will listen to your words in silence. I only ask you to let me take shelter in your house. The cold is freezing my old bones.


Source

The situation was exasperating. The man burped the fish soup he had recently eaten and an acid smell invaded the air. Oh, my God, I am a helpless victim of this waste escaped from the abyss standing in front of me, the man ruminated to himself. When he spoke, his voice had a hysterical tone and his eyes reflected the holy and selfish indifference:

_I would like to help you, but I don't know what your intentions might be, and to be honest, I only open the doors of my house to my friends and to people who look better than you do. Shame on you for coming before the house of a Christian like me, in such a garment," said the man again.

_Then give me something to eat, for the love of God, for I am hungry. I can't stand the cold because only a piece of leather is like skin covering my bones. Give me something hot, even if it's not enough," insisted the homeless man.


Source

The magnanimous character of the man defied with the look that piece of skin and bones that shivered of cold. Unmoved by the plea, the man exclaimed:

_ Lazy sovereign, dirty vermin, your virulent history, plagued with lamentations only manage to make you smaller before my eyes and the eyes of my God. You all lie in order to receive food without working. Get out of here.

The man closed the door and with a good Christian face, sat down in his hot seat and continued with the reading.


Sometimes we think we are good, noble, and we beat our breasts every Sunday when we go to church, but when it comes to being generous to strangers, we are mean and ignoble. The indifference to the tragedy of the man who got on the bus speaks of the kind of person we have become, because it is one thing not to have money to give, but quite another not to respond to man's greeting and blessing. We must continue to do good, even if it is not fashionable, and we must continue to believe, for the good of the world.


I hope you liked this post. I remind you that you can vote for @adsactly as a witness and join our server in discord. Until the next smile. ;)

Written by: @nancybriti



Click the coin below to join our Discord Server

Adsactly Logo Newest 300dpi.png


We would greatly appreciate your witness vote

To vote for @adsactly-witness please click the link above, then find "adsactly-witness" and click the upvote arrow or scroll to the bottom and type "adsactly-witness" in the box

Thank You


Sort:  

I find it easier to be kind when I am outdoors. Does anyone else find that? I think the connection with God is stronger under the sun, with fresh air circulation and iif possible with grass between my toes. I sometimes wonder if our lack of compassion for others is a function in some part of our disconnection with the earth Your words are nice musings to start my day with. Generous and kind. Thank you.

In Venezuela, and I imagine in many other countries, people get on public transport to ask for money or help. Many of these people tend to lie with their stories, but I'm pretty sure others do not. It's a pity that I pay just for a sinner! We are insensitive to everyone. We have put on a breastplate against the tragedy of others. It's always good to read your comments, @owasco. Good day to you.

The sinners need our compassion and generosity more than the virtuous do. At least I think so. I'm trying to tame a feral cat, who was very hostile and frightening to me at first. After months of kindness and food, he is now very loving, to me at least. I think this could be extended to all life.

Excellent analogy, @owasco. I believe that in this age there are many people who remain erect, immutable, like the tree cleft by lightning: No soul inside. Sad! :(

Brilliant. Generosity must become a way of life. 👌👏🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

It becomes necessary for life! ;)

Hi, @adsactly!

You just got a 0.3% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Very valuable and necessary reflection, @nancybriti. The open and supportive relationship with the other, especially with the most needy, is not only obvious proof of what the ancients called "compassion" (suffering with), but also makes us more human in flesh and blood. We have lost that elementary sense, in many cases, to the extent that we do not have to respond to a greeting.
Very good post. Thank you.

I must admit with regret that among the people who turned their faces, there was me! We become more and more insensitive, less compassionate, to the tragedy of others. A sad end awaits humanity if we continue along this path. Thank you for your comment, @josemalavem

@nancybriti, Unfortunately many stops to extent of words and they never act. In my opinion the whole world is breathing like Oneness and no matter how many times we try to disagree, we all belongs to one tribe and that is Humanity Tribe and we should try to feel the situations and pain of others and atleast we can pass some healing words to reduce that pain. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Compassion begins with feeling good for ourselves. To be compassionate is to look at the other as an equal, as a person who lives something you can live. In the world we are all equal and therefore exposed to the same tragedies. Greetings

Absolutely true words and at the end of the day it's all about the Understanding.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very illustrative story. Religious afiliation is not always matched with moral practices. As a matter of fact religious incongruencies or contradictions are rather common.
Actions speak louder than words, they say, it is also featured in scriptures that by their actions we shall know or distinguish the good from the bad.
Self-righteousness can be a very deadly sin

In fact, in recreating the story of the destitute and the supposed Christian, I was thinking about that. We are so hypocritical sometimes. We say we're good because we give away what's left over or help a friend, not realizing we'd be better off giving away what we need or helping the stranger. And so we go through life, confusing good and timely. Greetings, @hlezama.

Wow, very descriptive your publication, and sadly very real, made me remember someone I know, a religious woman who every morning on her couch faithfully reads her bible, but that in her being there is so much selfishness, bitterness and envy, something really contradictory ...
Maybe sometimes we are indifferent to these situations because they are so repetitive especially here in Venezuela, that happens every day, compassion is no longer something new, and we do not give it importance, . We boast of what we are, of helping others, of the damage they have done to the country and we are sometimes incapable of helping those who need it most, actions are definitely worth more than words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93