Slow Farming with Rasta Mokko

in #reggaesteem5 years ago (edited)

I've been watching the Ras Kitchen channel since @dmilliz introduced it in this post. It's slow video, it is edited and not completely in real-time, but it does have that feel.

I have a yard out the back and we have talked about cooking out there. There's an open area that leads out from the back of the house and the garage and then, opposite, is my vegetable garden. You can park a car out there, but I prefer to keep it clear and use it as living space.

Since watching these videos, I've been thinking about how I could develop it by building a frame for climbing plants. A favourite is passion flower, I love the way the foliage loops when it has enough space to grow freely. The plants would provide shelter and shade for a living area, an outdoor kitchen and a tub. We have water already out there, and picking up and clearing wood from the trees in the garden is a forever job. I've written elsewhere about building a wood oven.

In this video, Mokko, Matthew and Ratty are out on the farm talking about the crops and hummingbirds. I could do with that machete at the weekend when I'll be taking down cardoons. There were a lot of flowers this year - no hummingbirds but many bees and other insects. Now the flowers have finished, the plants seem to be collapsing. They've grown about seven foot high this year, with giant leaves, maybe three or four feet wide. Interesting, but not great to eat.


I talked a bit about the cardoons in an earlier post.

I can feel a gentler life of gardening, cooking and boating coming on. Maybe a little recording for reggaesteem :)


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

I like the idea of climbing plants, a frame is pretty easy to make or buy, it's given me a idea for my own garden my neighbour as a new gazebo but climbing plants would be nice.

The channel is so chill right ? Always a pleasure to watch. Makes me wanna move to the Jamaican country life and start a new. Glad Ras Mokko has inspired ideas for your own garden:) be careful when you by the machete 🙃


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

The scenery in some of the videos is breathtaking. I was amused in this one that there was so much beauty and lush vegetation and so rural and then in the middle the loud ring of a mobile phone! I was surprised there was reception there - in the middle of London my friend has to go out in the street to get a signal. Interesting how our assumptions are confounded.


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Lol that’s funny 😄 regarding the phones. Yeah the telecom companies go hard in Jamaica. The concrete jungle makes it bad for this signal I thinks, imagine when this 5g thing is widespread , the signal is weaker but packs more punch 🤷🏾‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 24.39% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @shanibeer! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99