what is my # core # and how do I # engage # it? Beginner level!

in #rehab7 years ago (edited)

What is my “core”?
The “core” is comprised of several groups of muscles including the transversus abdominus, multifidus, diaphragm and pelvic floor muscles. These muscles work together to produce maximum stability in the abdominal and lumbar (lower) back region, as well as coordinate the movement of the arms, legs, and spine. Engaging these muscles is not something that most people do consciously, therefore it is important to learn how to effectively co-contract these muscles while performing these rehabilitation exercises.

How do I engage my core?
Place two fingers on the bones on the front of your hips (ASIS). Move your hands in an inch towards your belly button and down and inch towards your toes. You should now be directly over the transversus abdominus muscle. When you contract your core correctly, you should feel a gentle tightening under your fingers, as if you took in your belt one extra notch. If the muscles under your fingers start to “dome”, then you are contracting too much and compensating with larger muscle groups. It is important to learn how to engage your core in various positions and well as during activity to provide maximum stability for your spine.

Sort:  

Wait... did you just write a post about getting beautiful abs and not include pictures? :-) Just ribbing you a little- Okay, that pun was intended.

If I can provide a little helpful tip. People respond a lot quicker and with more upvotes on Steemit when both pictures and markdown are used. For your two questions a "##" code would make them stand out and look cleaner like

How do I engage my core?

See what I mean? The "##" need a space between them and the text and they identify as a Header 2.

Welcome to Steemit and keep up the good work! Put as much work into this as you do your Facebook and you'll never need another private client again :-)

Not sure what you mean? so should I hashtag "#" all my title? I am brand new at steemit, like 5h.

Thank you so much for your help!
I hope the private client thing will be happening however I love what I do with passion. Helping people get better at their life is really rewarding!

Read this tutorial to get you started.

There are 3 different sizes of Headers and they go "#" Header 1, "##" Header 2, "###" Header 3 :-)

Header 1

Header 2

Header 3

Hope I can help you get going! Also you can drag and drop images directly into the editor. Just make sure you site any images as either your own or where you found them on the web. People do self police plagiarism and copyright here on Steemit.

What @bruckdashel said. Upload some pictures with your article. Even if it's just of you doing the exercises. You don't even need to show your face if that bothers you. I've never seen a decent payout on a post with no pics.

Thank you for the feedback

Can you edit post?

Yes. I think for the first 24 hours.

would you know how?
Also how did you upload the picture of your profile? I am brand new at it but I am really not sure... @randr10 so you are a homestay dad? this is my goal!

Yes I am a stay at home dad. It's the hardest job I've ever done lol. Very rewarding though.

Editing a post is easy. Just go to the area of the post at the bottom where it says the payout, number of votes, etc. and you'll see the Edit button. This gets you back into the editor and you can make the appropriate changes then.

Edit: on the profile pic, you need to host the image elsewhere for some reason and then put the link in your settings. I think they just haven't programmed that in yet to be able to upload it directly like you can on posts. You might be able to do a post of the image you want to use in your intro post (if you haven't done one yet, you should put one together after looking at some from other people) and then link to its location for a profile pic. I use imgur to host my images since before Steemit would allow images to be uploaded.

Awesome! I am also a Dad and it is truly challenging, we both work full time and it makes it even better ;)

Well a life without a challenge would be boring!

Anyways thank you very much for all those information! it's very useful!
We should go for a beer sometimes in SD and talk fatherhood lol
I take some afternoon off and I usually go to the zoo and hangout with the baby.

Sounds good Chris. We're members so a zoo meetup would be great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67653.09
ETH 3789.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50