You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Miss. Opinionated : Technology Ruins Romance.

in #relationship7 years ago (edited)

I read your post and I find it interesting to read what you think about the topic.

in 2005-2007 I was dating on dating sites, when most of my friends found it weird and dangerous. Today there are tinder and I guess I am too old or too overweight to get a date on tinder, I have tried and never got a match !...

I worked in the night life and saw peoples behaviors change over the years. I agree with what you write, that technology comes at a cost.

There are so many options today, that sometimes in the end no option is taken serious. I don't have the answer for a solution, but it is both interesting and a little terrifying to watch how the generations behaviors develop over time.

Sort:  

It's amazing how technology can disrupt society and the behaviours of people in that society to such a large extent. How something like using dating sites could be stigmatised and yet within the span of a decade become the norm.

I don't believe the vast majority of tinder users will meet their ideal partner. Of course there are ALWAYS exceptions, but with such simple metrics for determining whether you like someone or not, it's really overly simplifying the meaningful laws of attraction for relationships outside of innate carnal desires.

Of course, night life has yet to show any dramatic change because the dating apps will likely appeal to those who fared poorly in those situations and were a small fraction of the nightlife demographic in the first place. But of course, it's still a gradual shift that might tilt over at some point in the future.

I also don't know what option is truly best, and I guess that best solution is to go with the one that you feel most comfortable with. It's just that many people nowadays feel more comfortable eluding to real life interaction because it acts as a safety net for their own insecurities or shortcomings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67