You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cult of Pet Ownership

Your comment elsewhere about earnings being your secondary motive here is what led me to your blog. I am happy to welcome any Steemian who puts content and community before earnings. I don't really agree with a lot of what you wrote here, but it was well-written and thought-provoking. Welcome to Steem.

I will honestly say I have felt similarly on the topic of pets in the past and I do still think there are people who have unhealthy, self-enabling, and projective relationships with their pets. That said, I do not see any problem with giving dogs funerals, or honouring them as fallen officers, or giving them birthday parties. A recurring theme in reading this article of yours was: okay; maybe this is a valid point of view, but why does it matter so much? It feels like you are projecting negativity from somewhere else in your life onto this topic.

The little blurb you worked in about SJWs and "infinite genders" is telling. I think it is less about there being infinite genders and more about there being infinite ways to feel gender and identify with it. Personally, I don't really consider gender a particularly important part of my identity; people can come to their own conclusions if they wish.

When we look at what someone else is doing and decide that it is unacceptable, even if it has no consequence for us, we fill our lives and thoughts with negative energy. Positive energy is so much better.

As recently as a little over a year ago, I saw the Internet as a place to vent my frustrations with the world. I filled my comments with rage and negativity toward nothing in particular. Then something magical happened: I joined Steem. I met interesting and wonderful people from all walks of life and gained perspective and I am a much happier, less hateful, and more loving person for it today.

I hope that you will find something similar here.

Hope to see you around! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69188.87
ETH 3670.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24