GUYS INSECURE AROUND A SUCCESSFUL WOMAN

in #relationships6 years ago

In a midnight conversation with two of my friends, one, we would call Felix shared with us the tale of how he lost interest in a young woman he had been trying to woo when he discovered she had a car (a posh one at that) while he didn’t. DU2pdqgX4AAWQo0.jpg

He said it was awkward for him to agree to have anything with her after she offered him a lift one day after she saw him strolling home from work. I was shocked and somewhat disappointed because he was already a graduate and I felt this mindset was mind-boggling.

I know there are many other guys like Felix, but there are a certain number who could care less.
In the African society, it is unmanly for a man to be unmanly, so they say, and manliness is defined in a certain myopic way by majority of persons.

The man is an ego being and whatever does not boost his ego is a threat to him; that is why he would do anything to disassociate himself with anything that seems to deflate his ego.

As a young woman in Nigeria, we began the training on how to be a marriageable woman/ wife early and many of the qualities or attributes we were trained in were mainly man ego massaging attributes.

In times past, this was acceptable as women gleefully accepted to be trained this way, because almost all of them aspired to be someone’s wife and could care less about other things that would reduce their “wifeliness”. I believe this is what gave rise to the phrase we all have been using, “wife material” and of course the latest subtle introduction into conversations “husband material”. DTbkbFqWkAAfHwa.jpg

These two terms are used to describe a person, man or woman who is marriageable, it’s the process in which one’s marriageability can be measured and in years pasts owning a car was a big scar or dent on a woman’s marriageability: as a woman who owned a car was no good wife material, as many single stories assumed they would be disrespectful, arrogant and irresponsible.

In recent times, this ideology is still very much present and alive and still hovers just like a hollow, around the minds of some guys.

Times are changing or would I say, times have changed and there are equal opportunities for both sexes to excel.

As the economy is dancing here and there, it is becoming a norm to have women in businesses and in money-making ventures, though their male counterparts are still very sceptical and less receptive of their new found place in the society.

Are you a man of this time and age who believes any woman who owns a car and even a house to her name would most likely be disrespectful, arrogant and irresponsible? Isn’t that “18th Century-ish”

We are in the era of Bitcoin and some people still choose to remain in the 18th century.

Dear Men, why is this so and what can be done about it?

It is not funny.DSnFCLJXkAAnWKP.jpg

Sort:  

I find myself more comfortable with women who are successful and powerful than those who aren't and especially many of the egotypical types that exist! I look at people and character that is it!

You are one of those who are among the select few

Yes one day women will stop dating those asshole types and look for real men who respect and honor them and view them as equals and counter parts not just tools and servants for their desires and needs... Least I hope soo... It is what my daughter(s) will learn growing up from me that I can promise!

I wonder how a more conscious man would behave? One who is more spiritually aligned and less driven by ego.

In America, we’ve come to describe the ideas of masculinity you’ve outlined as part of the sexist “culture of toxic masculinity.”

I think it is going to be a high interest topic for a long time to come. I know that Women’s Studies programs at universities here in the States are focusing on it.

This is crazy to me, but I have met a good number of fellas that feel this way. When i asked I I find that it's about how they feel about themselves not actually the women. Women encourage me to do better just like a man would. It doesn't matter what who the person is for me.

You got my vote. I like your style and energy. Welcome to steemit. You will do very good. You will be most probably more successful than me. And I’m ok with that :-) @johnskotts come join my group we’re all but very supportive. https://t.me/joinchat/HS2mmxDbdKMdcORq6o_zlQ

As well if you check out my post there a few good group I’m part of. Do join as you wish. Hope to see you soon. Good luck. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67489.05
ETH 3760.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70