You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Marijuana Help Prevent Domestic Violence?

in #relationships6 years ago

Let us not forget that not all domestic violence is perpetrated by men, and not all cases are associated with substance abuse. I was married for 15 years to an abusive woman, and her behavior was not caused by substance abuse. Her abusive behavior continued in a serial pattern through numerous subsequent marriages. I acknowledge the fact that the post mentions that 1/7 males have been victims and 1/5 of all victims have been males. Despite the fact that the majority of cases are against women, the physical and emotional tolls have no gender bias. Furthermore, what if the victim of abuse is the primary (in my case the only) breadwinner for the family? The damage affects the whole family and especially children if there are any. In many if not most cases, that person is a male. My career and ability to provide for my children were both negatively impacted for over a decade after my divorce as the female used the children as a tool for prolonged abuse. I could've taken her to court, but that would just create further disruption for my children. Thankfully as adults they see what was going on, and they are happy and well adjusted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68625.09
ETH 3746.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76