Biblical vs Femenist Marriage

in #relationships6 years ago

"The wife does not have authority over her own body but yields it to her husband. In the same way, the husband does not have authority over his own body but yields it to his wife.” 1 Corinthians 7:4

"My body, my choice"-The Femenist mantra

Let me preface this by saying I, by no means, am some sort of a biblical scholar, philosopher, or relationship expert!! In fact, I've just begun reading up on the Bible and what it commands of marriage. So this is foreign territory for me, even though I grew up in a strict Apostolic household.

I suppose during my rebellious teenage and formative adult years, society had a bigger influence on me than I would like to admit. It was mostly the negatives aspects. They were disguised as freeing and liberating. It was ok to be egotistical;to worry only of my own needs being met, letting my emotions be the driving force behind my actions.

It seems to me like a lot of this coincides with today's ideals of Femenism. Although it had to be pointed out to me by the opposite sex!

From my experience talking with married women, christian and non christian, most of us can't get past the very first verse of "The wife does not have authority of her own body but yeilds it to her husband..." We stop right there!!
Typically a "hell no!" follows.
And society tell us that's ok because the Bible is sexist and wants to keep women subservient to men.

Could this perhaps be why the divorce rate has gotten so high? Is society really telling us, especially women, that if our needs are not met, it's ok to not meet the needs of our spouse??
My husband has pointed out (more than once) we live in a society that validates and encourages that opinion.
It's only with a renewed outlook on society that I've been able to understand the ramifications of that type of ideology.

Sex tends to be the most prominent one. He wants it, she doesn't! Its socially acceptable for women to withhold and comical to see a sexually frustrated man. But it goes further than that. It ranges from everything to pregnancy to outward appearance.
Society tells us that we can do whatever we want and f**k what anyone thinks.

Maybe it's time to turn off the TV and open our Bible...download.jpeg

Sort:  

Quality time is for quality activities, couldn't agree more with your post. It gets tough to change your mind in this modern environment, takes bravery, so good on you.

Thanks. I'm glad you understand. I've seen this topic debated in Bible study groups and online forums. It seems like men and women often misunderstand its ultimate goal. Some use it as a weapon or see it as a weapon for control. In actuality, it's all about mutual respect and equal vote. In the end, isn't that what one wants in a marriage

Congratulations @spibe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81