What does it mean to humble yourself?

in #relationships6 years ago (edited)

For the past few weeks, I've pondered this question way too many times. It had been weighing heavily on my heart and I didn't like one bit. I tried to surpress it as much as I could, but it just wouldnt go away!

You see, in the past few years, there has been a lot of conflict and discord in certain areas of my life. I didn't want to "talk it out" with a therapist. I tried to resolve it on my own; but to no avail. I just couldnt find any sort of resolution that would give me the peace I so desperately wanted. So I sought out God in prayer and asked for guidance.

No sooner than asking, I stumbled across this passage:
"Think of the person who causes the most conflict in your life. Would you like to begin to resolve the conflict with that person? Are you willing to apologize for your part? Maybe he or she is 95 percent at fault, but your responsibility is to take care of your 5 percent and let God handle the rest."

This really hit home for me. You see, I thought humbling myself to those I have hurt would mean I was somehow giving up power. Giving them license to get off the hook for their part.
Admitting to myself that I was wrong was hard, but admitting I was wrong to the offended party was even harded. It was downright terrifying! Who ever said the first step is the hardest, wasnt kidding! But it's also said that God gives grace to those who humble themselves.
I hope I can find grace and forgiveness, and not become a doormat, as I journey through this uncharted territory of humility.images.jpeg

Sort:  

I'm sure all the respect you get in return for going though with it all will make it worth the hardships that led up to it. In the long run everyone learns from what you've accomplished and get to be better people thereof

Do as the Lord leads and you can't go wrong @spibe

  • Turning the other cheek and forgiving others of their trespasses doesn't make you a lesser person,
    it doesn't make you a doormat (that is future tense and forgiveness is past tense),
    it frees you from the other person's control.
    It frees your mind from dwelling on them and the past,
    to focusing more on the future walking with God...

Romans 8:28 King James Version (KJV)

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Maybe you are learning a valuable lesson that you will be able to help someone in your situation later in life...???...

God Bless

key.gif The KEY to Life!

Thank you for your kind words. I hope to be an example for my children.

When I think of humility I think of the idea of giving up your rights. Your right for fairness, to be right, to get the last word, to have it your way and just trusting God will sort it all out. But when injustice is happening to some else, you stand up for them. Like Jesus, he never defended himself but always others (like the lady caught in adultery and other outcast of societal rejects)

Congratulations @spibe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81