I will go by the ConstitutionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #religion5 years ago (edited)

Authored by govil and jain

contitution-of-india.png

Long back in India on a journey from Delhi to Manali by road (it was a 15 hr plus journey at that time - some 25 years back), I was talking to a friend of mine who happened to be a Christian. Along the journey discussions veered around to minorities, law and order, political system et al. And then, I popped a question to him out of the blue. “If ever you are faced with the situation where you have a conflict between Canon law and Indian constitution, what will take precedence for you?” The discomfort was very obvious. My friend tried to duck the question in every possible way. Being equally determined to have an answer, I stonewalled his every argument and persisted with the line – I agree the situation would not arise as you say, but, if it were to arise, what would be your precedence. In the end, after evading the question for a full three hours the gentleman said – ‘Well! In that case, I would go by the Canon law’.

And, that set me thinking.

Over the years out of curiosity I popped up this question to many – Sikhs, Muslims, Parsis, Hindus - a wide cross-section of religions. And the answer universally was, that their religious laws would take precedence. Except for Hindus. Almost all Hindus said that they will go by the Constitution.

May I hasten to add here that all persons I talked to are extremely patriotic, they are perfect human beings, with well-honed values and ethics. They all come from decent, cultured families, and, they care for the nation. Yet, religion takes precedence in their minds over the Constitution. This was baffling to me.

The question has lingered in my mind over the years. I have been searching for an answer. But have never quite got one convincing answer. Why everyone (regardless of religion), who is an Indian citizen, not swear by the constitution first, and anything else thereafter? This keeps nagging me though life goes on. And as I see the world around me today, this becomes even more relevant today ( February 2019).

And today I ask every head of every religion across the world. Why can’t every religion preach their disciples that you should owe first allegiance to the constitution of the country you reside in, and, thereafter to the religion you follow.

Perhaps this is an oversimplified statement as the world is too complex. But then isn’t it time that we started looking at things in simplified forms for everyone’s benefit.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rgov! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks. Will strive for the next target.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64