That's Not How It Really Happened ... Constrained Writing Contest #14

in #religion6 years ago (edited)

That's not how it really happened.jpg

"Damn it!"

"What? What happened?"

Jack slammed the car door and closed his eyes.

"All this time!"

"What?" I repeated. I unbuckled my seatbelt and leaned over to put my hand on his.

"Shit!"

With a sigh, I tried to guess what was going on. "Is your father's building that bad?"

"The WHOLE place is covered in anti-Christian posters."

I shrugged. "Everyone knows your father's position, James. I bet he had that stuff at his house too."

"Yeah, he did. Growing up, that's all he had around us."

"So, why are you getting so upset?"

"When I became a Christian, he threw me out the house."

"Yeah, I know. That's his loss."

Jack opened his eyes and turned to me.

"My father helped to remove all the Christians from this city."

“Yes. Everyone knows that."

"His prestige and opinions influenced other people in power to outlaw Christians from their cities as well. My mother told me to get rid of my Christian beliefs, but I wouldn't listen. So then, she told me to go up North and to never come back."

"I didn't know your mother was the one who told you to go North. What happened to her?"

"All these years, I had it in my mind that my father had outlawed Christians... However, that's not how it really happened."

"What do you mean?"

"My father's been harboring Christians, Nora."

“What?”

“They're in that building with my mother ... We need to get to my father right now, before Walker does.”


STEEMIANS, THIS IS MY VERY FIRST STEEMIT POST

Hello out there. For my very first Steemit post, I thought it would be nice to tag all the #vincentb followers on a writing contest I'm entering today.

The #constrainedwriting contest seems to be happening each week through @svashta.

If you don't know what to write about on Steemit, this contest may help pump up your creative juices and give Steemit newbies like me a chance to earn some Steem.

To enter this contest, follow @svashta and look for his weekly "constrained writing" posts. Follow the directions and join in on the writing fun.

Also, for those of you who didn't know, @elpompador (Vincent B) has set out to try to help people make out better financially on Steemit. If you'd like to be entertained by his daily video posts, please do follow him. You can also join in on his Steemit community with his tag: #vincentb.

Finally, I am grateful for @mariannewest's post: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-88-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-see-below

Follow her account and read her post!

In her post, I found the "Constrained Writing" contest. She lists many other contests there too and I plan to join in on more fun. You should too. :)

I haven't decided what topic to focus on yet for my Steemit, so contests like these are truly great.

Keep in touch.jpg

If you'd like to follow along with my contest writings, here's my Steemit page: @whatrokusays

Sort:  

I love your writing style, love how the story is told by dialogue, and absolutely love the story also!
But I'm dying to know who this Walker guy is. =O I want to knowwww what happens next! :D

Excellent writing though, and amazing use of the sentence!
Thank you very much for your entry!

@svashta, that means a lot! Thanks so much for taking the time to read my entry and for your kind words. It would be cool to finish this story - I'd like to know what happens too. Looking forward to your next contest prompt. :)

Wait, do I understand this correctly... You will continue this story using the next contest's constraint? haha :D That's a first, and it sounds quite splendid! :D

Congratulations @whatrokusays, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Thank you so much @steem-network. I will read your simple steps.

Yay! Welcome to Steemit! Love to read new writers! I loved this story, you did so well. The Freewrite is awesome. Be sure to check out the #weekendfreewrite as well. It is a lot of fun! Great use of the writing constraint.

Thanks so much @simgirl! And, thanks for letting me know about the weekend free write. I will look at that tag right now and join in later on today. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80