Water Baptism

in #religious6 years ago

I was opportune to baptizing my daughter on Sunday. It's a rear opportunity because I know enough of theology to understand that baptism is a terrific opportunity and at the same time just saw enough of God to realize that we have no idea just how special it is ...

We have been stumbling down for 1000 for trying to make sense of baptism. In history there were denomination who made a superstitious thing that gave supernatural power to the water or the minister. In alternative to it we turned it into a symbolic act indicating something spiritual we actually know but this water and words make it a little clearer ... I suspect neither of the two views is right.

While we certainly can not believe you're going to heaven just because you're baptized and hell when you're not, we can not be so dared to believe that a sacrament-something that we believe God does-does not really impact has on the reality of our lives. Our faith in the real reality of our God who comes in contact with us and the One is the first work in our life-many times in supernatural ways but foolish. We are very self-centered in our understanding of our relationship with God-we believe in His mercy, but actually we think the thing depends on us.

So while I'm baptizing Rebecca and watering her forehead and over her cheek, I realize there's a myriad of theology that's now working, faith truths that are now being called in my mind and things that I'm reminded of. But as the water drops on the ground and she breaks her face over the cold discomfort, I know there is something magical about it. God is confirming that things will now be different to my girl-her life, her experience of him, her salvation is not in my hands. Yes, as a parent, I have responsibilities, but with or without me, even in spite of me, God is busy with her and it's a reality. She will know God- The almighty will make sure.

Sort:  

Hello adeyi!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations @adeyi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65