One electricians philosophy

in #religon5 years ago

101- There must be a creator

I have been a tradesman over 40 years. In that time I have never witnessed a pile of materials show up to a site and evolve into a building. There always is a plan. There always is effort. A law of physics supports this view, one that states anything left unattended declines. A building is somewhat organic ( heard of sick buildings in the news? ), made with systems that are designed and interdependent to function for a purpose. When I enter any facility I can sense the coordination and labor and challenges in the construction. I feel that same sense in nature. This convinces me there must be a Creator. Nature too is interdependent and functions for a purpose, it must have had a designer.

Being an electrician in the construction industry galvanizes many of my beliefs. In the future I hope to post about themes of energy, transformation, light, power, . . . All with an overlap of practical view supporting philosophical view.

Do you have practical experiences that supports your beliefs? I would like to hear them.

Sort:  

I struggled for a long time with reconciling a literal interpretation of the creation story with the mountain of evidence that the Earth is older than 8,000 years or whatever the Biblical timeline pegs it. I thought “maybe the Flood changed things on an unprecedented level and that’s why everything seems so old.” (Grand Canyon, dinosaur fossils, etc.). But then there was everything else to account for outside of Earth. Stars that are over 8,000 light years away that we can see. Craters on the moon that took millions of years to pile up. That sort of thing.

Then one day, two things just clicked — on a more philosophical level, I realized that it really doesn’t matter how it happened as long as you believe God was at the helm and in control when it did. But on a more practical level, it was while I was walking through the mall one day and I saw a pair of brand new jeans for sale for over $100. The thing is, they didn’t look brand new at all. They were faded, sand blasted, and had holes in various places. They were intentionally designed to appear old. So why not the universe too?

Looking forward to reading more of your perspectives! You should try adding the #christian-trail and #steemchurch tags next time for a little visibility bump 🙂

Thanks, I appreciate your reply and the advice on tags. The new view on the young earth vs old earth debate allows both camps in, that is always a good thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95