Right to repair

in #repair2 years ago

Humans are fixers. We have a fierce primitive need to repair and upgrade. I think it is a survival instinct.

I believe strongly in the right to repair. I just ordered a desktop on ebay and I will upgrade it immediately. I am exercising my geek calling to augment and enhance my tools. I have always repaired my tech. You buy it, you break it, you have the right to fix it. Simple right? Certain tech companies didn’t think so. Now they are getting on board. Right to repair is suddenly the in thing.
I will upgrade my desktop with a 500gb hard drive and eight more gigs of memory. The machine comes with a 256 ssd and 8 gigs of ram. I will also dual boot with Windows and Linux utilizing the two hard drives. Luckily I don’t need specialized parts for this job or have to go to a speciality repair shop. I do it myself and there’s no law against that. If you have the skills, you do it yourself, save money and feel a sense of deep satisfaction.
There are those who don't need the hassle. They prefer to replace their gear rather than repair it. Others are clueless when it comes to tech issues. We are all different. Tech belongs to us all. At the end of the day it's about having fun with the tech you own. Having the right to repair is the proverbial cherry on the cake.

right to repair.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55