You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rescuing Toucans from illegal trafficking!

in #rescue5 years ago

This is awesome m8. Well done!

I see how beautiful they are as animals, and sure it must be amazing to be up close to such wonderful and colourful birds. But I'd much rather see them from further away, even through binoculars etc in their natural environment. I don't understand these people who would keep such birds in cages. Tbh, i never understood birds as pets! Even as a child I saw instinctually that by its very nature, a bird shouldn't be caged.

Maybe no animal should be caged, full stop. But when you're 5 years old you want a pet/companion. I had a hamster for years, then we got a cat. But birds need to fly, simple as that. Their instinct is to fly. Even my hamsters got to walk about my room every day when I let them out, much to my mother's annoyance as it would leave little droppings everywhere lol

But my friend had a budgie, and when ever he let it out the poor thing just flew madly about before cowering in the corner of the ceiling. I distinctly remember being angry about it, even at such a young age.

Anyway, you and @evecab are both kindred spirits. I would have done the same.... but probably would have got a machete swung at me 😉 quick thinking telling the guy you were working for the environmental agency.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.84
ETH 3310.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92