You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More power to resteems

in #resteems5 years ago (edited)

I couldn't agree more with this idea acidyo.

I've often wanted to add a little note to my resteems, much like you can on fbook or twitter when you share on either of those places. That way you could inspire further conversation on a person's post based on what attracted you to it.

Especially now with 50/50 we could give a lot more power to resteems. Not just as a way to resteem your friends, I admit I do that sometimes, but to resteem as a curator.

I have to admit I rarely resteem, even my friends, as I see it as as direct curation and I'm super fussy about quality and what I resteem being complimentary to the style of content I'm producing at the time. But I do think I'd resteem a lot more if we could add a little note.

I've felt the powerful effect of the whale resteem when Dan resteemed the 'call to action' post I made about the noonies awards. The post got a tone of notice by a load of old school steemians who don't follow my account. I feel like if people could add notes the higher SP holders could add extra impetus to posts like that by giving people a quick summary of what the post is about. In this world of diminishing attention spans it could really help pulling people into reading important content.

I'm not sure about monitising the resteem feature at blockchain level though. I too remember those resteem services and really don't follow, or like, users who resteem tones of posts/day. What it comes down to is balancing it all so it doesn't ruin the whole mechanism of the 'follow' function. Most of the time i follow someone based on the expectation of seeing more of the same type/style of content that originally interested me when I discovered them.

Interesting and thought provoking post acidyo 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81