Fixing a rocking chair

in #restoration6 years ago

Steemit IMG_2993.jpg

Recently, my friend @samuraikrabbe wrote his first Steemit post, making him the second person I have successfully introduced to Steemit, the first one being @steving. I wish Steemit had a reeferral program. Anyways, in his introduction post, @samuraikrabbe mentioned that he was inspired to write because I had promised to write more myself, once he had started writing, a promise I'm happy to try to fulfill.

Steemit IMG_2975.jpg

A fearful challenge


The adventure of which you're preparing to absorb started with a request made by one of my ancestors, expressing the desire to utilize my unexplored skills as a hedge trimmer to, well, trim the hedge.

Steemit IMG_2976.jpg

Hesitation...


I'm sure that under different circumstances, where my genes would serve me with fearlessness when faced with difficult challenges requiring the use of sophisticated machinery, I would accept the challenge without making hesitant noises. The realization of the required use of a motorized hedge weapon, did, however repulse my interest, as using such a tool was not compliant with my inner risk-to-reward calculations, causing me to make those already mentioned hesitant noises.

Steemit IMG_2977.jpg

A new hope...


Looking through the garage, I found some wooden pieces, witnessing the former glory of two kitchen chairs which my already introduced ancestor had hoped to once have repaired. As compensation for the not so trimmed hedge, I offered to repair the chairs.

Steemit IMG_2979.jpg

Steemit IMG_2980.jpg

Negotiations...


My suggestion was met with enthusiasm, but I was offered the surfacing of an even stronger enthusiasm if I would rather choose to repair the estate's old rocking chair.

Steemit IMG_2981.jpg

The rocking chair...


The rocking chair in question had a back which it didn't have anymore, since the rails forming the back had had their mounting points broken.

Steemit IMG_2982.jpg

The broken back...


The work of fixing the back of the chair had already been started, but at some point in history, the project had halted, leaving a back whose middle rails had had their bottom parts removed, the plan being to reshape the new bottoms of the now slightly shorter rails to fit in the holes in the seat.

Steemit IMG_2983.jpg

Steemit IMG_2984.jpg

Start cutting...


The side rails had not yet been shortened to accommodate the now shorter length of the middle rails, so I removed 2 cm from their top mounting points using a somewhat sharp saw.

Steemit IMG_2986.jpg

Steemit IMG_2987.jpg

Sanding and whittling...


Now that all the rails were of equal length, their ends had to be made slightly thinner. My initial plan was to sand down the edges until they were the correct size...

Steemit IMG_2990.jpg

...but after consulting my brain, I found it much more efficient to whittle the end using a blunt knife.

Steemit IMG_2991.jpg

Let's see if it fits...


With all the loose ends of the rails treated with the utmost precision by my experienced hands, it was time to test-mount the back to the rocking chair.

Steemit IMG_2993.jpg

Hmm, it fits...


As you can imagine, I was quite nervous during those breathtaking moments before test-mounting the back to the chair. If one of the rails was too short, I would have to shorten all the other rails and repeat the process, potentially until the back was nothing but a bad memory. Luckily, everything worked out well, and the back mounted easily, without the need of depression.

Steemit IMG_2994.jpg

Adding more sturdyness...


To make sure that the rocking chair's back would remain mounted, we decided to implement some extra mounting magic.

Steemit IMG_3002.jpg

First, we drilled holes through the seat, underneath the larger holes in which the rails were mounted...

Steemit IMG_3003.jpg

...the plan being that we could further secure the rails with screws from below...

Steemit IMG_3004.jpg

...but then the drill bit got stuck...

Steemit IMG_3005.jpg

Steemit IMG_3006.jpg

We executed the same procedure to the top of the chair's back, making sure that the chair would support even the most entusiastic chair rocker.

Steemit IMG_3007.jpg

Keeping niceness in mind


To make the screw heads less visible, we created what I believe is called a countersunk hole, allowing the screws to sit more flush with the surrounding surface. I retrospect, looking at the result, it's evident that this didn't help much, but it's the thought that counts, I guess.

Steemit IMG_3008.jpg

Adding some glue and some screws...


Now that the chair was nearly finished, we applied some much needed wood glue.

Steemit IMG_3009.jpg

We knew that the chair was old and had had a potentially traumatizing history of back breaking, so we made sure to grant it excessive amounts of glue.

Steemit IMG_3010.jpg

The glue was reinforced with screws...

Steemit IMG_3011.jpg

Steemit IMG_3012.jpg

...which did not sit flush with their surrounding surfaces, giving the chair a retro-neo-industrial look.

Steemit IMG_3013.jpg

Steemit IMG_3015.jpg

Steemit IMG_3016.jpg

Steemit IMG_3017.jpg

Steemit IMG_3018.jpg

Steemit IMG_3019.jpg

Finished...


After entering the last screw, we kept wondering if our job was done. Had we fixed it, or was there more work to be done? Were we satisfied with the very evidently added screws, or was this a temporary solution? Should we paint it?

Steemit IMG_3020.jpg

Thumbs up...


In the end, we decided to give the project a thumbs up, ignoring everything which could be improved upon.

Steemit IMG_3021.jpg

The road ahead


After having admired the result of our intellect, for a few minutes, we came to the conclusion that we did not dare sit in our newly assembled chair. As of now, it serves as a decorative piece of furniture, until we get to paint it, at which point it will serve as an even more decorative furniture.

Steemit IMG_3022.jpg

What about you?


I'm quite impressed if you've made it this far in this excessively long post, and if you did indeed read everything, you must be a rocking chair connoisseur, in which case I wonder:
-What is your favorite rocking chair brand?
-In what rocking chair store do you usually buy your rocking chairs?
-How many rocking chairs have you destroyed, and how many have you brought to life?

Make sure to let me know in the comments section;)

Sort:  

Hello @oyvindsabo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Amazing @oyvindsabo! This is a phenomenal share, maybe we can start up some restoration contests or something in the near future! You've inspired me ya goon.

Thanks, mate, that would be awesome. I'm glad to have inspired you:-)

Wow, I'm impressed. I didnt know that you are so technically talented.
A new carpenter talent is born !! :-)

Haha, I like cars, so it only makes sense to give birth to some carpenting skills.

nice work mate , My father who is 67 has been a self employed upholsteror all his life . I like your content , you have a new follower :)

Thanks, mate! Looking through your profile, I see that you have a desirable collection of cool cars. You've got a new follower as well;)

Thanks for the warm welcome , collection of headaches some times but im just managing to keep them all in good shape . When you drive them hard it dosen't make it any easier lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97