"RHINOPLASTY"

in #restorative6 years ago

RHINOPLASTY: MY EXPERIENCE (PART 1 - BEFORE THE OPERATION)

I had 2 rhinoplasties in 2 years. Nothing aesthetic at the origin, I broke my nose twice with deviation of the nasal septum each time. You had been a lot on Instagram wanting an explanatory article about restorative surgery: What is it? What are the differences with aesthetic rhinoplasty? Is it supported? I explain everything!

This article will be divided in two so as not to be too long, I will link Part II here when it is online.

RHINOPLASTY OR RESTORATIVE SURGERY

Before I start, I think it's a good idea to remember that I do not encourage to do any cosmetic surgery . This is, in my case, REPAIR surgery after an accident to prevent future respiratory problems . Although my nose had some defects before the operation, it did not complex me at all or did not prevent me from living, on the contrary. Nevertheless, the operating protocols (and especially postoperative) for an aesthetic or restorative rhinoplasty are generally the same. I repeat that I am absolutely not a doctor and that all this is based on my memories.

I think it'll be a bit long, have a cup of tea and Granola (or Pim's if you're part of the old school) ...

IS A RESTORATIVE OPERATION REIMBURSED BY THE SECURITY?
Already back to the basics: What is a restorative surgery ? I will not take myself for Larousse to release a definition that would be about. It is best to refer to the humanis site which defines restorative surgery as:

"A type of surgery that aims to rebuild the degradation of physical appearance. Reconstructive surgery may occur for example after a serious accident in case of congenital malformation or disease (eg breast cancer leading to breast removal) In short, it is a question of repair injury or trauma that has been caused to the body. The primary goal is not to beautify the body.

In the case of rhinoplasty, operations are reimbursed in case of nasal deviation resulting in serious breathing problems. All this is very well supervised and it is the surgeon who will make a prior request to health insurance . In the event that it is accepted, the refund rate is 100%. We will not hide that it is far from negligible when we know that a rhinoplasty ESTHETIC in France costs on average 4000 euros.

I link you here , the humanis article , particularly comprehensive on the repayment terms.

WHY? MY STORY
2 CONSECUTIVE SHOCKS
Before entering the course of the operation and all the administrative part, it seems logical to explain how I came to 2 rhinoplasties in 3 years.

Let's say I did not have a bowl. I think that's the right phrase.

I started at the age of 15 and lamented badly against a small furniture library early in the morning. You know, those days when you wake up too fast with your head spinning a lot ... Let's say that it served me as a lesson. I became psycho and now I get up in stages to avoid getting my nose back. I do not remember what happened, just that in one shot my head began to turn very hard, I ran unintentionally to the library and ... .PAF Grousset.

2 minutes later, I found myself with a bag of broccoli on the nose to soothe the pain (yes, it's naze, but we had no ice bread so we do with thevegetables means the edges huh!)

Quite honestly, I think I've never been so hurt in my life that breaking my nose. Even the agraphs in my head when I opened my skull, it was peanuts next to the sensation that resonates in my head and keeps you from breathing.

The worst, still sneeze, as you say that if you are allergic to pollen and you break your nose in May, it may be complicated.

I ZAP VOLUNTARILY FOLLOWING, I WILL RETURN A FEW LINES LATER.

3 years later, at 18 .... it's a pigeon that decided to send me back to the pool. Although my nose underwent a first restorative intervention he was still a little fragile.

In Paris, a Saturday, I saw the pigeon, the pigeon did not see me. He decided to start a landing phase. Too bad, I was in the middle of his trajectory . I took it full force.

And then, casually, it's heavy a big pigeon (according to Wikipedia 500 grams) . With speed, he broke my nose a second time. Since I was little, I was always afraid of pigeons, it's karma!

TIP # 1: DO NOT HANG AROUND AND QUICKLY CONSULT!

This is the mistake I made for my first broken nose. I did not want to see a doctor, I minimized completely thinking it was going to happen . It is clear that no "it is not past".

My surgeon explained to me that we had to make an appointment immediately when this kind of shock occurred to reduce the fracture as quickly as possible. The ideal is to be operated less than a week after the shock at the latest. Obviously, I delayed and the number one operation took place a little more than 10 days after taking the door of the library. From the first consultation, the doctor warned me that he was going to be able to do the most urgent manipulations (namely to straighten the partition and reduce the fracture) nevertheless, it would certainly be necessary a second operation 1 to 2 years later to find a nice nose since I was late to consult.


Before the operation

For both operations, I chose the same doctor : An ENT surgeon in Paris near my home. Before choosing a surgeon, try to find out about the person, his skills and the opinions of patients. Although it was in my case to reduce a fracture, I did not want to end up with a bad nose!

PREOPERATIVE APPOINTMENTS
In the case of many cosmetic surgeries, appointments with the surgeon are often spaced. An aesthetic change must be carefully reflected and the patient must be aware of all that it involves. In the context of a reconstructive surgery, everything goes very fast. 2 appointments and roll my chicken, you find yourself three days later in the hospital.

WITH THE SURGEON
The first appointment, I was auscultated history to see a little damage. This is not necessarily the most pleasant thing , we will be honest. The doctor looks at the inside of your nose with instruments that look more like kitchen sleeve pocket sockets than anything else.

Depending on this first auscultation, you are sent to do radios if necessary in anticipation of a future operation.

The next day I'm back with the famous radios. Good verdict is without appeal, my nasal septum is gone in freestyle. To avoid respiratory problems, there is nothing left to do.

As I explained a little earlier, we must go fast. The date set falls 4 days later. Then, the surgeon explained to me in detail how he was going to reduce the fracture and correct the deviation that had taken my nose ... inevitably I looked more like potato than anything else, with my nose all swollen.

Moreover, whether the first or the second operation the protocol is the same (that's why I do not specify). At the end of the second appointment, you have the right to the small order of touuuuuus products that must imperatively for the operation but also after the operation. Finally, you also receive a sort of "roadmap" of the operation (the arrival time, the products with which to wash, the time of the intervention etc.)

It was also during this meeting that we wrote the paper for health insurance attesting that the operation is well restorative and can be reimbursed by the security.

TO THE HOSPITAL
The surgeon who operated on me works twice a week in a clinic. So you have to go there to register. On site, I also took the opportunity to meet the anesthetist who will accompany the surgeon. This is a necessary step to the extent that a general anesthesia (even local this said), is absolutely not an innocuous act . The anesthetist then asks a whole series of questions in order to avoid possible complications during the procedure.

READY FOR THE OPERATION

Between the two operations

THE DAY BEFORE
Before each operation you have to go through the box, a little relooked , from washing to betadine . The night before, you must soap completely (body + hair) with this little yellow liquid that is prescribed.

Good…. then my brain beauty blogger tend to think it's a bit drying, the smell is really not phew and it does not lather well .. . Let's say that it is not essential, as long as it disinfects , it is the main one.

Moreover, it is this product that often applies vets on small wounds to disinfect, so say that it must be effective.

If you are a little organized (or archie stressed) , you prepare all your little things the day before . The same day I was so freaked out that I would have been able to forget my suitcase.

Check list of the bag:

  • All the papers that you have received since you consulted for your nose (you never know, it can be useful)
  • Card ID, social security card, insurance card (the card Sephora however, it is not useful)
  • The radios that you have been prescribed
  • Of spare clothes (if they ever keep you overnight, you're glad to have your pajamas) / mobile charger / wallet / headphones, short mini survival kit .
  • OPTION: Your comforter.

D-DAY
For both operations I was summoned to 7H00 in the hospital and operated around 8h / 8h30 . It is imperative to be fasting, so the little dej 'you can forget it directly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85