C64 Game Memories - Revisited 30+ Years later : Aztec Tomb

in #retro6 years ago

az1.GIF

My first dip into adventure games on the C64 is Aztec Tomb released by Alligata in late 1982/early 1983.

I have a love/hate relationship with adventure games where I cannot decide if I prefered the earlier all-text adventures or the 'graphical' text adventures. For my money, i'd probably go with the former because of the C64 limitations at the time. With an all-text adventure it was very much like reading a book but taking part and you had to imagine your surroundings yourself - I was also a big fan of the Fighting Fantasy books as a kid. I think todays kids wouldn't even give them a look to be honest, but its a different era.

az2.GIF

My gripe with early graphical adventures was that the graphics were not good and rather than add to the believeability of your adventure they took away from it and Aztec Tomb is no exception.

Aztec Tomb is a weird game which feels didn't take long to write. The blurb on the back of the cassette suggests you are deep in the amazon rain forest and must find a hidden tomb but to be honest it looks a bit like suburbia! In a text adventure it would be so much more grand.

az3.GIF

It's a fairly basic adventure with the usual commands, graphics which use the C64 basic keystrokes and has copious amounts of really bad english vocabulary. I mean, i'm not one to talk but look at the screenshots!

az4.GIF

It would be another 5-6 years before the graphics and sound would make graphical adventure games exciting, especially the point and click variety. So yes, I guess i'm saying give me any famous Infocom text adventure all day. An all-text game would have me imagining the scene on the cover of the cassette tape above.

This would have kept me occupied back in the day, but now? Meh.. . bin it!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Scaramanga73 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I can see: toaster-oven. I am carring: buttplug. What shall I do now?

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66