I Never Won Any [Megaman] Level (Yet.)

in #retrogaming5 years ago

I knew the original MegaMan games were supposed to be hard. Playing MegaMan Legacy Collection for more than few hours and I never won a level even once.

eb83ohsvfd.jpg

At first I played Cutman level which I heard is the easiest. It took me many play-throughs to reach the boss! And wow, I couldn't even hit him the first time.

After a while, reaching Cutman became a bit easier for me due to getting used to the enemies placement and their attack pattern. Fighting normal enemies is easy now that I can predict their movement. But the boss still manages to beat the crap out of me!! It's fun in a twisted way.

625bgeu36q.jpg
Cutman boss fight!

Learning by playing the same level over and over.
Since the enemy placement is the same every time,
I think this is the right way to play Megaman!

After looking up online I found that the first Megaman isn't recommended for first time players as the recent games included features not in the first game. Many recommend Megaman 4-6 instead. Someone even recommended playing the games in backward order from 6 to 1.

After reading that I tried to play Megaman 4 only to get crubstomped by the first level I played (I think it was Pharoman level, not sure.) I also tried my luck at Ringman level.

7fpqtwloaz.jpg
Ringman Level (MM4)

I played MegaMan X games as a child. Maybe it's nostalgia but I remember them way easier than the Legacy MegaMan games. Even though I haven't finished the X games too.

I think It'll tale a while for me to finish these games. (Maybe months since I don't play every day.) Until then, I'll improve the old fashioned way: by losing until I get used to the level.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Learn the patterns of attacks the bosses use. I remember having a hard time beating Cutman too. The level is definitely the easiest without special weapons.

If you think the levels are hard just wait until the boss fights. You have no idea...

Yup, I think I have an idea hearing that Cutman is the easiest boss in MM1.

I think I'll try it too!

Give Mega Man 2 a run through. It was my first, and main, experience with the Mega Man franchise and while hard, it is a little more unforgiving, I think, than the other entries (at least the 8-bit ones).

Will do, thanks!

Also, if you have a PSP available, check out Mega Man Powered Up, it is a remake of the first game with new graphics and a new difficulty level that is more forgiving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98