PlayStation 1 Games of My Childhood (Part 2)

in #retrogaming7 years ago

This is more of Nostalgia post than a Review, I'm talking about my experience more than the games themselves. Also, this post is a sequel I talk about different games here than the ones in Part 1.

Salam (peace)

I have published [Part 1] few days ago, I told you about some of the PS1 games I have played in my childhood, I had more games that I figured they deserve mentioning too, so here we are~

As I said in Part 1, Since there's no school for the whole summer in Libya... when I was a child I spent each day of summer playing, many times I play with my brother and cousins.. actually the five of us spent more than three summers together everyday... either in our house of theirs.


The PS1 image is public domain taken from Wikipedia, all covers are taken from Gamefaqs.com and they're owned by their respective companies.



Pepsi Man

This game is related to one of my best childhood memories.
I played it with a lot of my relatives in one Eid (the Islamic festival) the house was full and as we traded turns.. since there were a lot of us someone can only play once...

No one of us was good at gaming so we couldn't finish that game that day. But the lovely atomsphere where the whole family and relatives are smiling & laughing. is one precious memory of mine. These days I don't meet with those relatives often, I don't know where some of them are... I wish I kept in touch with some of them.

For the game itself there isn't much... it is average in all things. It can be funny though... I mean who got the crazy idea to dress someone in Pepsi and make him run in the street like an id-- I mean like... uh... respectable man in socity?


007: Tomorrow Never Dies

This was the first FPS experience in my life, my father bought it instantly as he knew the movie and he talked about it... he made me love the game before I even play it... and it was good he did that because I couldn't do anything in the game.. it took me more than 50 plays (in span of years) to get past the first level..

That's why I remember the details of the snowy first level, but can't remember anything past that. To be fair, I got the game when the only things I knew of English was the letters so...


Megaman Legends

I played Megaman X5, before this game... but this was the best Megaman game I liked... ever!!

I don't know why but this megaman felt more real, more.... lovely.. I don't know.... this game was the best. I like how megaman and roll here had personality, a lot of it!!... I liked the anthagonists (don't know if I should laugh at their stupidty or pity them)... I liked some of the NPCs even though I felt most of them are there just to fill an empty space.

The different weapons was good idea too, I liked the landmine attack a lot!!

I wish they didn't stop making Megaman Legends 3... because looking at it's screenshots I was sure that game will be the best Megaman... Ever!!


Let's & Go!!

If you live in the arab world and you're from my generation, you probably heard of this series... "Let's and Go" was very popular animated show in Spacetoon, the most popular channel for the animated shows in arab world.

So when I found this game in a shop I bought it and played it... though I never learned japanese. this game was fun... it's the best racing game I played in my childhood. didn't know many of the characters because this game was based on the third season of the anime... spacetoon has only aired the second by the time... it aired the third season in my late teens.


Spyro: Year of the Dragon

I was fairly young when I played Spyro, it's world was gorgeous in my eyes as a child. I spent a lot of time in this game. a lot of it was in the mini-games and just exploring without doing anything. Everything in how you control the dragon is different. There's also few levels where you play with other characters.

I said in my previous post that Digimon World 1 was the open world experience on PS1.. Spyro felt more open and free because it was fully in 3D.

In my childhood, I didn't now that this game was the last part in a trilogy. it felt as a standalone game.


(More) Disney Games

AladdinLilo & Stitch
Toy Story 2Donald Duck

I remembered these other Disney games since last time, for me they weren't as good as Disney's the Lion King or Tarzan I talked about them in Part 1.

I don't have many memories with Aladdin, I loved the movie and probably the game too... But for some reason I don't remember its levels. weird....

Lilo & Stitch is a average game, but I liked how they've gone from the movie to the game version.

Toy Story 2, I loved toy story from the time I read about the movie in a children magazine... the game was good too. You get the feeling of Buzz as he tries to rescue toys. don't remember much of it other than it was very good game.

Donald Duck was a great game... it took a long while to finish but I loved every second of it!!

~ Serieously Disney knew how to licence a game in the PS1 generation!! ~


And finally....

Dragon Valor

I haven't played this in my childhood but in my mid teens (around 14-15 my english wasn't bad then) but I had to put it here since this game is Amazing... no, it's EPIC!!

My cousins played it on their own playstation and talked about how good it is, but I didn't belive them until I played a lot of it...

Unlike them what amazed me wasn't the good gameplay or the lovely character design (for PS1 game?)... But how the story is told... It's an Action games but it's told in Chapters and each chapter has Multiple Endings!! that affect the chapters to come.

It's an Action game but it had all of what made RPGs facinating for me...

And the multiple endings of a chapter aren't reached by cheap methods like multiple choices or killing/sparing someone... but depends on how you navigate the world: saved the princess before killng the dragon? marry her.... killed the dragon faster? the princess is saved but didn't know you, so you marry the young woman who helped you at the start of your journey...

Your son (different each one) will complete the journey... and so on. the game spans three generations, with each player different than the rest. (wow, this turned to a review isn't it?)

For a while, my dream was to develop a game like it when I grow up, and if I had the chance I might still do!!



Thanks for reading up to here, I hope you had a good time reading this post.
[There may or not be a Part 3]

Sort:  

I still love my PS1 I sell a ton of games on ebay and need these older systems to test games when I get them in. Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

I was a bit afraid that my post was just me ranting and people won't enjoy it... thanks for letting me know that you liked it... I'll probably make part 3 for the games I played in my teens!!

upvoted your comment!!

Hi, just wanted to tell you that I posted part 3 of my topic about the PlayStation 1 games I played when I was younger:

Playstation 1 Games of My Teenage Years

Congratulations @ahmadmanga, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1371 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2989.62. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

wow!! thanks a lot!!

I can't stop laughing so hard the first time I played Pepsi Man everytime he bumped on something like a parked bike or a woman. And when his face got hit by those construction iron bars. Good memories.

Haha!! yeah I shouldv'e mentioned that in my post!! Pepsi man is one crazy game!! in a good way!!

Hi, just wanted to tell you that I posted part 3 of my topic about the PlayStation 1 games I played when I was younger: Playstation 1 Games of My Teenage Years

There's no Pepsi Man in it though... haha

In Playstation 1 I was the king fo Thekken 3 !

Hi, just wanted to tell you that I posted part 3 of my topic about the PlayStation 1 games I played when I was younger:

you might see a game you remember there?

thank i will see it

I loved playing with King too.... I talked about Tekken 3 in Part 1

Congratulations @ahmadmanga, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1371 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3020.41. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Loved Spyro as a kid!
I'm still playing it with my girlfriend from time to time. So many memories...

yeah, I have a lot of memories with it too... while this wasn't of the game I replayed when I got older.... glad you're still playing it.

Hi, just wanted to tell you that I posted part 3 of my topic about the PlayStation 1 games I played when I was younger:

Playstation 1 Games of My Teenage Years

I remember playin this at my cousin every weekend when we was young we didnt have much games but i remember one with the mickey mouse i think and later on those games where u could shoot ducks or frizbees good times

Hi, just wanted to tell you that I posted part 3 of my topic about the PlayStation 1 games I played when I was younger:

Playstation 1 Games of My Teenage Years

Thanks for lettin me know i ll read it rn

Oh... glad you had a PS1... It was the best gaming system in it's time.... and there are many games that are still interesting even by today's standards (if you ignore the graphics).

ahh man as soon as I seen your post I was praying that Spyro was going to be in there. I remember Christmas 2000 I was 6 and my brother got a playstation for christmas and he got Spyro and I was addicted from that moment on. The nostalgia is real. Just brings back so many memories sitting playing on my box tv. Those were the days and I can't believe how fortunate I was to have that stuff back then.

I didn't put Spyro in part 1, sadly... but yeah.. it's one amazing game!! thanks for your comment!!!

Hi, just wanted to tell you that I posted part 3 of my topic about the PlayStation 1 games I played when I was younger:

Playstation 1 Games of My Teenage Years

There's no Spyro in it by the way.... there's Metal Gear Solid and Monster Rancher instead~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97