Book Review : Addicted to You (Addicted #1) by Krista Ritchie

in #review6 years ago (edited)

SUMMARY

*She’s addicted to sex. He’s addicted to booze…the only way out is rock bottom.*

No one would suspect shy Lily Calloway’s biggest secret. While everyone is dancing at college bars, Lily stays in the bathroom. To get laid. Her compulsion leads her to one-night stands, steamy hookups and events she shamefully regrets. The only person who knows her secret happens to have one of his own.

Loren Hale’s best friend is his bottle of bourbon. Lily comes at a close second. For three years, they’ve pretended to be in a real relationship, hiding their addictions from their families. They’ve mastered the art of concealing flasks and random guys that filter in and out of their apartment.

But as they sink beneath the weight of their addictions, they cling harder to their destructive relationship and wonder if a life together, for real, is better than a lie. Strangers and family begin to infiltrate their guarded lives, and with new challenges, they realize they may not just be addicted to alcohol and sex.

Their real vice may be each other.

Summary taken from :
https://books.google.com.ph/books/about/Addicted_to_You.html?id=S4jonAEACAAJ&redir_esc=y&hl=en
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22296542-addicted-to-you?ac=1&from_search=true

Where Can I purchase the book?
I was able to buy the book I got from Nation Bookstore, which is available nation wide in the Philippines. The book is also available in Amazon and on Kindle !

REVIEW:

New Adult Romance recommended for readers 18+ for mature content

  • “Wherever I am, whatever I'm doing, alive or dead, young or old, my heart will always be with yours. Every beat you feel against your fingertips..." His fingers tapped against my chest, once, twice. "... is me calling out to you. It's you returning the call. It's us talking, communicating, bonding, sharing, Living -- Kiersten, it's us living.”

And-- I was totally ruined by this book -- it left me speechless , it made my cry , laugh , grin , swoon. You know the feeling when you havent read a book for weeks and I happen to read this one -- i was caught off guard. The story was indeed something -- it was innocent sweet yet every page seems to either make me grin or cry.

  • “No matter how afraid you are - you can still make the choice to fight. You can still make the choice to walk through the fire- he said to do it afraid.”
    Im actually having a hard time reviewing this, I don't want to put spoilers -- but I'll say what i can atleast, you know the innocent girl meets bad boy? the story actually started out really cute i wasn't expecting it -- since i was randomly choosing the books that i wanted to read. the book actually made me think about "time".

  • “For the first time in a year, I wanted to live -- because I wanted to spend every freaking day watching her open her eyes to the world. Hell, I wanted to be the first thing she saw. Sometimes, reality's a bitch.”

  • “Time was the most precious thing in the world to me, and I’d just given her all of it. Because I was falling for her. Because I cared for her. Because I wanted to give her something to remember me by, even if it would eventually fade like its namesake. Time… what an absolute horror-inducing word”

How much time do we that we have? how much time have we wasted -- I don't know but i know i had my share too. Wes completely took my heart -- he made me cry -- he made me laugh -- he made me learn that sometimes when we are afraid we can still make a choice to face it -- to face the things that scares us -- to face it afraid. It broke my heart how i reached deeper into the book -- it felt like i was losing time too. URGH! I love how the characters in this book were -- protective -- how friendship is proven.. how you support each other. how hard it is to convince your self not to fall in love with that person because you know you shouldn't -- when you know -- he / she deserves better. But sometimes we can't stop what are hearts desires.

  • "I want all of [your heart], even the broken pieces, the shredded ones that no longer fit. I want all of them - all of you. I need it all."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61