My favorite books - The Ryria Revelations

in #review6 years ago

Time for more of my favorite books! This time I will talk about The Ryria Revelations.

The Ryria Revelations

The Ryria Revelations is a series of books, written by Michael J. Sullivan. It talks about a partnership between an ex-soldier/mercenary called Hadrian and a thief/assassin called Royce. The two of them are for hire as Ryria. The stories mostly center around Royce and Hadrian and how they apply their skills and wits to get through their assignements. It is mostly about the human world, with a little hit of magic and elves, dwarves and other creatures on the side.

They make an interesting pair and their relationship makes for a fun read. With Hadrian being the optimistic, social one and Royce being the dark, quiet and distrustful one. Through the years, he has learned to trust Hadrian.

Ryria Revelations
(Source)

The stories of The Ryria Revelations were published in three books:

  • Theft of Swords, containing The Crown Consipracy and Avempartha.
  • Rise of Empire, containing Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm.
  • Heir of Novron, containing Wintertide and Percepliquis.

Later on, Michael J. Sullivan wrote a couple of prequel books, The Ryria Chronicles, talking about how Hadrian and Royce met, about how they met Royce's love interest and about their earlier adventures. These are the ones I've read so far:

  • The Crown Tower
  • The Rose and the Thorn
  • The Death of Dulgath

I love these books, because, besides the compelling stories, the relationship between Royce and Hadrian is fun to read about. You really grow to love the characters, so by the end of the books, you feel sad that you'll have to miss them. I read Ryria Revalations before I knew about Ryria Chronicles, maybe even before they existed. So when I later found out there were even more books about Ryria, I was very happy and ordered them right away! It felt great to dive into that world again. I have another one on my wishlist (The disappearance of Winter's Daughter), but when I checked a little while ago, it was still hard to come by here in the Netherlands.

The First Empire
(Source)

The Final Empire

Since I first wrote about Michael J. Sullivan, he has released even more books centered around this world. This time though, they do not contain Ryria. Instead, they happen thousands of years before the stories of Royce and Hadrian. They describe many events still talked about later, but through these books, you'll learn the real story behind the legends! Three have been released so far, with three more on the way:

  • Age of Myth
  • Age of Swords
  • Age of War
  • Age of Legend (2019)
  • Age of Death (2019)
  • Age of Empire (2020)

I've read the first three and I loved them just as much as I loved the Ryria books. This series is completely seperate from the Ryria books, but it's fun to come across names and places talked about in the Ryria books and to learn more about their history. These books sucked me in. They are exciting and some of the events brought me to tears. I can't wait to read the last three books!

Michael J. Sullivan has replaced Terry Goodkind as my favorite writer, because of his Ryria books. I can definitely recommend them to anyone who enjoys fantasy books. Michael J. Sullivan created a wonderful world and amazing characters, both lovable and hateable, all with their own strenghts and flaws.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Designs shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Patreon | Weku |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |

Part of this post was previously created by me, but I have updated it to contain the latest info and new series.

Sort:  

Royce sounds interesting!
The problem with me is that it's difficult for me to put them down when i start. I'be ruined my eyes already so can do no more.

Oh yes, Royce is pretty cool!
Yeah, my eyes aren't always happy with me either. Do you use audiobooks to get around this? I've never tried them, but my brother and his girlfriend do enjoy them.

Seriously enough i have not tried them...nor have the inclination to use them. It sounds enjoyable so i will have to consider and try it when am back in UK cool thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99