Distraction-Free Writing Tool

in #review7 years ago (edited)

“Attached to PC, emulating keyboard.
Press send to transfer 'File 8'
Press Cmd-File key to switch to a
different file.”

Here I am, on the couch. With my dog. I am chilling on the couch with my dog, while listening to some music.

Life isn't perfect, but it's good. I feel fortunate to have found methods of getting things done in a more efficient and better way. As for productivity, there is plenty to improve. In terms of writing however, I feel it's time for a celebration: My latest writing tool is amazing.

1.jpg

It's a Renaissance Learning Neo2 word processing unit. A keyboard with a little LCD on top. The LCD is good for four lines of text. The device is very basic. And it can run for ages on just 3 AA batteries. I use Eneloop Ni-MH 'Low Self Discharge' batteries.

Why I use Eneloop batteries:

  • Recharge up to 2100 times
  • Maintain 70% charge for up to 10 years
  • Up to 2000mAh (AA) capacity
  • Temperature performance down to -4 F/-20 °C
  • Rechargeable with a standard NiMH battery charger

The Neo2 sports a full QWERTY keyboard and the layout, size and mechanics make for a very pleasant writing experience. Memory is sufficient for seriously long projects. Working at multiple writings at one instance is not a problem, you can store those in separate files.

2.jpg

The top row of keys aren't like a regular USB keyboard. No function keys. In stead there's the on/off button at the top left, followed by the file keys. File 1 to File 8. Switching files is just that: the press of a button.

A simple device with 8 memory positions to separate different writing projects. What else is there to say? Connectivity! It has a USB connection. The same type of connector which can be found on many USB printers and USB scanners. Connecting the device is as simple as connecting the USB cable between the host and the device.

On connection the NEO2 will turn on in transfer mode. In this mode the file you last worked on can be sent to the computer. Here's where things get cool. The Neo2 does not connect to a computer as a mass storage device. In stead it pretends to be a USB keyboard. At the top right is the send key. With the press of this button the Neo2 will start to write down it's selected memory file in any software application you can write in.

How I'll get this text I am currently writing onto my computer.

  • I connect the device as described.
  • I open a text processing software on the computer, I prefer OpenOffice.org Writer. When necessary I will place the cursor in the proper place.
  • From the Neo2 I will press the send button and what happens next is nice. The keystrokes are emulated by the Neo2. As if a ghost is writing the text on my computer.

It's awesome! Highly recommended!

Connectivity options are limited, which is nice.
3.jpg
Battery compartment accepts three AA batteries.
5.jpg
All instructions are on the back. Smart thinking!
4.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for info

Most welcome! Until a few months ago I didn't knew it existed.

Congratulations @softworker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69650.24
ETH 3776.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44