My Puerto Rico

in #rican6 years ago

My new ISLAND

I decided to go on vacation for my Puerto Rico. Many people told me that I was crazy because there are still many places on the island that don't have energy like at home. Go through some problems and experience the incidences, but nothing compares to the first few days and weeks post marriages. During this stay in the places of my homeland I have seen flags of Puerto Rico. I don't know what it means, but seeing them gives me melancholy. I feel it's the way to express the pain the island has gone through. Each flag is a wound from the Puerto Rican carrying it.

I have gone to visit friendships and the first thing I hear is stories during and after Mary. Sad stories by the way, these stories do not hear a moment of joy. Every story is different; the worse or sadder they all go. Three months have passed since Mary, the hurricane of history, all say nature has recovered. The jibaro, I say he's gotten used to it. Many are still without electricity and some without water. This does not stop friends and families from coming together. Since there's no power, you need to save the cell phone battery as much as you can. Yesterday (December 23rd) I shared with relatives and nobody was on their phones. I have gone out with friends and apart from throwing a photo to remember the occasion none of them uploaded photos to social networks at the time.

Maria has done much harm to the island. What used to be normal is now strange. You pass by the roads with the poles down, but you see a new one and it's the sensation of the moment. You don't have a light, but you fix it with flashlights and a gas stove. Turning on the plant (generator) was crucial, and they don't even care anymore, maybe once or twice a week to charge their cell phone or use the washing machine.

Don't think the Puerto Rican won't enjoy Christmas. In Puerto Rico this is the best time of the year, we have the longest parties in the world. With or without light, the festivities are celebrated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67