Rickysphotochallenge week 11 entry- Architecture

IMG_20170713_184459.jpg

Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, Berlin, Germany.

I took this photo whilst sightseeing in Berlin, as part of a backpacking trip around Europe.
What I love most about this structure, is that it shows the scars of its history. And it looks proud too do so. It's like it's making a statement 'I am not moving. You can kick me down, you can hurt me, but I'm not moving'.

This church was destroyed during world war 2. It has been left in its ruined state, as a reminder. It is still in use as a memorial. I like that they haven't attempted to restore it, i think sometimes restoration can take away the character of a place.
I love how the large stained glass window on the right side, has been blown out and never replaced. They've left it standing and built the buildings up around it.
The missing part of the tower, with the burn marks shows the brutality of the war.
At first I thought about taking the photo and editing the people out, but then I saw how much they add to it. It's like they are attracted to the church and are heading towards it.

I hope you enjoy this entry as much as I do! As always, this photo is my own!

Peace out.

X

Sort:  

Congratulations @haylienonearth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

you're making steemit a great community with your content haylienonearth! keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75