You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guess What I Am #5 -- SBD goes to winner!

in #riddle6 years ago (edited)

Yes! It IS a STEEMER! Good guess!

It's a godsend to the old folks, so they can eat their vegetables. It's not around as much in the home since people use the microwave more now. But it's also more prevalent commercially, as steamed and cooked veggies are sold in bulk in the freezer section and in pre-packaged meals--more so than they used to be. Vegetables and produce that are steam-worthy are more likely to come around in Autumn, so there's that clue.

When I was a kid, steaming and dehydrating and canning and gardening was all the rage. I miss it.

So congrats @tombad! You guessed my little play on words! You'll get the SBD on payout.

Sort:  

YAY, thank you!! Love the idea of this contest @littlescribe, and love the answer too! Some of my fondest memories are of spending time in my friends gardens, as a kid in London - I was never lucky enough to have a garden in the city.

Now I live in a semi rural part of South Africa, gardening, permaculture and subsistence farming is still a way of life for many people round here. Growing food is great, and with minimal access to organic food, and South Africa being the only country in the world that has allowed the majority of its staple crop (corn/maize) to contain Genetically Modified Organisms, I feel that here, growing your own is the only way to be sure of what you are eating!

Wow. Very interesting little tidbit. Nice to know they are taking a stand and cultivating their own food!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70805.12
ETH 3799.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43