You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confession's of a Ride Share Driver ~ #moderndaytaxicabconfessions

in #ridesharing5 years ago

I drove for Uber for 2 years back in 2014 and 2015 at first it was damn good money but then in 2016 uber and lyft had a price war and the price went so low that now I do other types of work through Task Rabbit (not a ride share) and can set my own prices.

I live in San Francisco where this technology was first born and it has been interesting to see it evolve. So as an uber driver I took more than 4000 rides and have to say I met a lot of cool people and learned a lot about things I never really thought about.

The most Interesting ride was with a vet who served in Iraq and went on and on about how sorry he was for taking innocent lives. I tried to console him the best I could. At one point he asked me to stop at a gas station and when he got back he said "man I really trust you I left my back pack with my gun in your car, I never do that" . I didn't know what to say but felt he already regretted taking peoples lives and most likely I was safe. So I played it cool and tried to be as positive of an experience for his day as possible. Right before we arrived at his destination he asked to stop at the ATM and when he came back gave me 20 bucks and told me thanks for being awesome and I drove him 2 blocks to his address and he got out and left

any way have fun and stay safe

Sort:  

Damn dude, that's an intense story. I probably would have tried to do the exact same thing. Calm, cool, collected, console. That's awesome that he saw his time over there for what it really was, and was cool being open with you and trusting you. Good on ya man! Hopefully he hasn't succumb to the 22 per day vets that off themselves daily statistic.

yeah I hope he worked things out in his mind and made his life better for himself. He seemed like a good dude

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89