Just had a Guy Try and Hustle Me *With Update*

in #ripoff6 years ago (edited)

This post has been edited
So here I am, just days into the Crypto World and just had my first attempt at being hustled. I have bought some ETH and LTC but I hadn't purchased any BTC. For shits and gigs I decided I'd buy a little BTC, $40 or so.. I had some cash on me so I thought it would be interesting to see if there were any BTC ATM's in my area. It turned out after looking online that there was actually one very close to where I happened to be, so money in hand, off I went to buy my first BTC.

The location of this Coin Cloud ATM was inside of a liquor store unlike any I've seen in my city. Upon pulling up to the joint I notice that there are multiple payment, transfer, finance option signs posted all over the windows of this place. None of which mentioned Bitcoin or anything Crypto. As I park the vehicle and check my phone, I can see the shopkeeper peering out the window at me while he talks on his phone almost as if he is expecting someone. The whole scene looks shady. Nevertheless, I walk in like I've been there before and nod at the shopkeeper as I make my way to the back corner of this carpeted liquor store. This place is a total throwback and very bodegaesque.. I approach the BTC ATM and begin the process or purchasing BTC. All is working well until I go to put my clean and crisp $20 bill into the machine. It won't take it.. I try my other $20, same thing.. I say screw it and decide to head out. Right before I got to the door the shopkeeper asks me if I was finding what i needed.
Me: Coin Cloud is down huh?
Shopkeeper: Are you looking to buy or sell?
Me: I was gonna buy like $40 worth of Bitcoin.
Shopkeeper: I can help you here at the counter. I can just send you $40 worth of BTC if you want.
Me: What are you charging?
Shopkeeper: I charge 10% just like the machine. The mining fees are really high right now though, like 15-20 dollars for that amount."
Me: What do you mean really high?
Shopkeeper: Oh I can show you if you'd like
Me: What exactly is making them so high right now?
Shopkeeper: I don't know, it's decentralized.
Shopkeeper: Show me your QR code so I can go ahead and send you that $40 in Bitcoin.
Me: Wait a minute, how are we figuring in these mining fees here?
Shopkeeper: Well, if you want $40 worth of Bitcoin then give me like $55 or $60 for the fees and you'll clear your $40.
Me: Yeah I don't think that's going to happen.
Shopkeeper: Just let me see your QR code so I can send you the money and we'll worry about the mining fee in a second.
Me: I don't think I'm going to pay that much.
Shopkeeper: Well that's up to you, just let me send it to you and lets see.
Me: No thanks I leave

Needless to say I purchased $40 worth of BTC later on in the day at a rate that was to be expected(I thought). No surprises (It turns out that this transaction is quite surprising. See my new entry regarding this transaction here: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@thetelekommando/coinme-bitcoin-atm ). I will always remember the day I bought into Bitcoin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48