Why is xrp such high value when banks can get so much benefit from Ripple's protocol but without using xrp?

in #ripple7 years ago (edited)

Boxmining says here more articulately what I posted myself a few posts ago

Boxmining explains the difference between the protocol and the currency and how it is the protocol (not xrp) that is taking on Swift . Boxmining concludes by just querying why it is that xrp's value is so high. I'd go further to say that with Ripple, the thing that is attractive to hold is the equity not xrp The company has kept back xrp for itself so if you are an equity holder you have exposure to the protocol and the currency. If you are currency holder you don't have exposure to the protocol and could find ripple being hugely valuable and your crypto holding being worthless

Ripple confirmed this understanding to be correct when I asked them this outright in a conference

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

Thanks

yes ripple hope it will rocket one day

I think you didn't understand it. XRP is potentially worthless , while the value is in having shares in the company.

So how do I get to be an equity holder ? I have 1400 xrp, now i have to exchange them because why even bother if it is the tech not the coin.....So anyone have advice or a solution to this situation ?

very different one indeed!!!

Congratulations @katythompson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thanks foe sharing..nice video.. :)

you're welcome

Thanks for sharing...

do you ever think xrp will go above many says it has huge potential but doesn't seems so till now in the market price

I think it might rise again but if people knew and believed what i said in the post I just made here it would crash other than go up! (Not that i'm wanting it to - I'm not about to get back in even if it does go down)

the market cap looks really cool but not the prices though

"Why is xrp such high value when banks can get so much benefit from Ripple's protocol but without using xrp?"

Let me try an analogy. If Ripple was Google, the protocol would be the Internet and XRP would be the search engine. Your question would be asking why the search engine would be of high value when users can get benefit from using the Internet without using the search engine.

I MEAN, SERIOUSLY, THAT'S THE WHOLE POINT!

Would Twitter be a better business if instead of connecting to users over the Internet (which works perfectly fine without Twitter) they instead built a proprietary network that only connected to Twitter?

You are thinking very, very small. Ripple is thinking very, very big. We're building open protocols and a payment network that can handle the world's payments and that we hope others can get behind. If that's a bad strategy, then the Internet is worse than proprietary networks.

If you had the idea for Google or Twitter and there was no Internet, you'd have to build it. And yes, you'd be building a network that works perfectly fine without the services that will make you money. But that's actually the best strategy -- to grow exponentially the market you plan to serve and sell into.

(I am an employee of Ripple, speaking only for myself.)

So I wonder if I can get them to buy my XRP and give me equity in its place? This post may be my getting of XRP moment.

Just my two STEEMS Worth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67