You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Roadmap 2018: Community Input Requested

in #roadmap20186 years ago (edited)

Perfect timing. Thanks for asking. Here's a list of things that come to mind presently:

  1. Add an option to filter out resteems on people's blogs so they don't look cluttered and you can find the main author's posts easily. I never resteem posts because this doesn't exist, which is kind of a shame, but it makes your blog look terrible without this feature.
  2. Consider changing the formula for curation so that curators are more highly rewarded again. 25% seems to be too low to encourage people to spend much effort curating. Then again, 50% seems a bit high. Either 70/30, 65/35 or even 60/40 author to curator split. This should be a top priority. [Edit: another great option would be to have curation rewards customizable. Then people could choose how much of the rewards they want to share with their curators.]
  3. Prioritize releasing a fully functional Steemit app for iOs/ Android, not just a wallet app. This will bring more people in first-world countries online and drive demand for STEEM up.
  4. Keep trying out new cosmetic variations for the site and take polls on the community's preferences. Be creative/innovative! It is a minor thing to a developer that makes a big difference to non-technical users, increases excitement and the impression that changes are constantly being implemented and feedback from the community is being valued by Team Steemit.
  5. I won't say too much about account creation since it's already being prioritized, but yeah, that will open the floodgates to mass adoption. Make sure you're ready for hundreds of thousands and millions of new users before you implement it (which you probably already realize.)

At the moment, that's what comes to mind. I may edit this comment with other requests as they come forth. Thank you so much for asking!!!

Sort:  

I guess people don't like my curation suggestion. Lol. (Probably don't like the idea of their author payouts going down.) Right now Steemit is mostly content creators all hungry for a payout and few curators, so something really needs to be done about it, even if bloggers don't like it, they will get used to it and it will improve the platform.

I agree that curation needs to be looked at. It would be nice to make changes that encourage whales to upvote/curate from varying authors so more authors get a nice payout occasionally.

Definitely. Not just whales though. Right now someone can just set a bot to upvote popular user's posts, and they'll get almost guaranteed curation rewards.
Perhaps an algorythm based on a user's average post payout rewarding more curation rewards for upvotes on lesser known users. This way it encourages everyone to go out there and find the diamonds in the rough.

I like # 4 by d-pend, where the community decides on issues of realavence that will affect us all. One question at a time. If you notice, this type of questionnaire tends to attract the same people repeatedly. If stats are correct their are a whole lot of steemians that are not seeing this right now. Thanks for your suggestions.

Like your list and think it's pretty dead on. #3 will cause more adoption naturally and increase retention. Currently this feels like being on Myspace having to be at my computer to post. 99% of my facebook time is on my cell, very rare I use my computer for it.

And #1 is Top of my list. My feed gets cluttered with resteems and has caused me to unfollow a few people that resteem everything under the sun vs quality, but I like their posts. Being able to toggle that on and off would be a huge help to make sure I don't miss content from those I want to read in my limited time. If there is more time then seeing content from others is of interest and then it makes sense to turn on the resteems...but I should be in control of this.

I created a front end called steemfeed.social that allows you to filter out resteems (among a host of other things). It's still pretty beta at the moment, but it's there if you want to see only the original content of the people you follow.

I am with you on this @thedarkhorse and have never seen anyone mention it. I too quit following some folks that like to resteem so many posts.

I like their posts but would prefer not to get so many in my feed they resteem.

25% seems to be too low to encourage people to spend much effort curating

The problem, in part, is that it isn't actually 25%, it is much less than 25% after factoring in the reverse auction (early voting penalty). The last estimate I saw was 12%. Even bringing it back up to actually 25% (or closer to 25%) would be a step in the right direction.

I too like @jesta's idea to make it customization on a per-post or per-community basis.

Prioritize releasing a fully functional Steemit app for iOs/ Android, not just a wallet app.

Maybe partner with esteem or other existing apps to promote them better, or even acquire them outright. That's a much faster path to getting this done.

Yeah, thanks for pointing that out, you're exactly right. I agree that assimilating existing app development would be a solid choice if it works out.

I’ve created a word cloud for the comments section of this post that I hope you will find of value and will want to share. While the creation of the actual word cloud is relatively easy and straightforward, the creation of a relevant word list that will produce a meaningful word cloud is quite another matter, as I’m sure you know, and takes considerable time and effort. Unfortunately, as of now, the post has only had 41 views. It needs a little love. Perhaps a resteem might be of help, if you think it is worthwhile, and, of course, it would be much appreciated too. TIA
https://steemit.com/steemit/@cryptographic/word-cloud-for-steemit-roadmap-2018-community-input

I agree with him

Great suggestions, @d-pend - especially 1 & 4!

1, 3, 4, & 5 are all right on the money.

I could see reading posts on my phone, or maybe a tablet, but there is no way I would want to write a blog post on my phone.
I think an app would mainly help users that are already here stay in touch, and respond to comments on their posts. That's highly important though. It will mean more activity on the site.

Number 1 is a must

For some users it's no problem to have lots of Resteems, but for others, I think having tons of other people's posts clouding our own blog is not the ideal visual setup we're striving for!

Great idea. It's been something preventing me from hitting more resteems on articles I like just because I think to myself "do I really want this to be there in 2 months time"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23