You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Roadmap 2018: Community Input Requested

in #roadmap20186 years ago

Okay, this seems like a good time to sound off on this. Account Creation needs to be at or near the top of the list.

One of the things I would LOVE to be able to do, since I live in a college town, is get a classroom environment where I could have everyone open their notebooks and we all start Steem accounts together. Onboarding college students is the path to millions. Those are your bread and butter, as other social media sites have demonstrated.

If you can't create an account and be in and posting in minutes, then doing any sort of onboarding classes is next to impossible. This can't be the way things were meant to be! I want to be out there teaching and bringing people to the platform. But I need a quick account creation in order to provide a usable experience for these kids who can be tomorrow's Steemians.

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to sound off here. This is something I have been wrestling with in my head for a bit now, and I am glad that it is on the list, I just hope it makes the priority list!

Sort:  

Okay, this seems like a good time to sound off on this. Account Creation needs to be at or near the top of the list.

Don't worry, it already is :)

Account creaton and first post should cost new user 2 minutes. No more.
An excellent KPI.

is get a classroom environment where I could have everyone open their notebooks and we all start Steem accounts together.

You should be able to do that with SteemInvite: https://steemit.com/steem/@hilladigahackles/steem-invite

Yes, you will need then cover the cost of those accounts upfront, but if you will post some kind of proof (class photo?), I am pretty sure that community will compensate you! I will for sure vote for you with 100% vote - and I will try to convince others to do the same - please notify me then about steemit.chat if I would miss such post! :)

Would be nice with a bulk option so it wouldn't take as long for his example.

This is exactly right. We should be able to go in to a classroom type setting with 30-50 people, none of who have an account, and within 20 minutes every one of them have an account and be posting! This is how we grow. Waiting not just hours, but days for account approval will not work for mass onboarding.

It's not so hard to creat account here. On golos.io you need to send sms with code. But you know? THEY have better content on main page. Really better.

Maybe hard registration makes selection better.

actually, mike, I'm pretty sure this is coming with the next hardfork..... or something a lot closer to that. also, if you dont' mind giving up a bit of sp, it's easy enough to create accounts for your friends via vessel, by giving them 6sp, or just delegating it to them so you can take it back when they've earned a bit.

You're right, vessel lets you create new STEEM accounts, but last I heard the 'fees' were:

  • 0.2 liquid STEEM
  • ~30 SP

though correct me if I'm wrong :)

nah... it's basically free. at the moment a new account requires a minimum of 6 steem... so... for @newsteem and @newsteam it only cost me 12sp... but the sp is still mine... so it was free :D and instant :D

lol... here's what vessel tells me right now (can you check too?):

How'd it cost you 12 SP for two accounts o_O lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08