You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The rocky road to SteemFest #4, part 2

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

Superiority doesn't really mean anything, until someone really pays their groceries, flights and hotel accomodations with Steem. Same goes for Bitcoin.

You could actually pay for your coffee in STEEM.

Until that happens, if ever, Steem will likely stay niche.

Sort:  

The success of Steem does not crucially depend on the acceptance of STEEM as a payment system in the wider world because STEEM (and all the tokens) is/are the currency of the attention economy on Steem. The platform aims to build a user base sorted by interest and capable of being targeted by advertisers with precision. That is the business case of the and the value proposition of the tokens here. It would help, of course, is businesses realized the utility of having a Steem account and the ability to accept SBD and STEEM as payment for goods and services. But STEEM is much more than a mere ledger of payments. It's a utility token for the attention economy on Steem.

But as long as it isn't accepted (or even traded) anywhere, its price will dwindle, and it will become less and less interesting for any business.

The truth be said, I don't want to do any trades with fiat. I don't see any sense in that. And if I could trade in Steem, as in if anyone accepted it, I could make anonymous payments, and I had enough of it (if it was easy to buy with Bitcoin, like it was in the past), of course I might use it.

What do you mean it isn't accepted or traded(!) anywhere? STEEM is traded on most major exchanges. If it weren't traded anywhere it wouldn't have a price in the first place. It's also accepted by some payment processors.

Fully anonymous payments are increasingly a pipe dream. All payment processors will be required to implement KYC and share data with at the very least upon request.

It must be just me, but all those exchanges I have previously used to exchange Steem with, have disabled it for some reason or another.

All payment processors will be required to implement KYC and share data with at the very least upon request.

And I don't agree with the policy. I have given my information to a couple places, but I am not in a habit of dealing out my personal info to everyone.

And did you know that some of them steal your coins if you don't provide them with that information? And you have no way of getting them back unless you give in to their extortion.

It must be just me, but all those exchanges I have previously used to exchange Steem with, have disabled it for some reason or another.

Coinmarketcap lists 32 exchanges that have STEEM listed.

"All payment processors will be required to implement KYC and share data with at the very least upon request."

And I don't agree with the policy. I have given my information to a couple places, but I am not in a habit of dealing out my personal info to everyone.

I'm afraid their policies are based on legal requirements.

And did you know that some of them steal your coins if you don't provide them with that information? And you have no way of getting them back unless you give in to their extortion.

I'm not surprised at all. If you want to avoid KYC, I don't think there are many other ways other than over-the-counter trades between individuals.

Coinmarketcap lists 32 exchanges that have STEEM listed.

12 – They list 12, none of which I have ever used. Actually that isn't right. I have used one of them, that is OpenLedger DEX, but not by logging in or creating accounts or filling in KYCs, only by using the Bitshares standalone wallet.

I'm afraid their policies are based on legal requirements.

Bad laws. Consider this: Someone breaks into some of these exchanges and steals the KYC data and information on how much each person owns cryptocurrencies. Does that not make you think it might be a dangerous and a very detrimental law? Just sayin'.

I'm not surprised at all. If you want to avoid KYC, I don't think there are many other ways other than over-the-counter trades between individuals.

That said, hopefully p2p exchanges and atomic swaps become the norm soon.

12 – They list 12, none of which I have ever used.

My bad. The list contained many of them several times as it was a list of exchange pairs.

Actually that isn't right. I have used one of them, that is OpenLedger DEX, but not by logging in or creating accounts or filling in KYCs, only by using the Bitshares standalone wallet.

Well, yes Bitshares is an interesting case.

"I'm afraid their policies are based on legal requirements."

Bad laws. Consider this: Someone breaks into some of these exchanges and steals the KYC data and information on how much each person owns cryptocurrencies. Does that not make you think it might be a dangerous and a very detrimental law? Just sayin'.

Sure. But I don't make the laws.

"I'm not surprised at all. If you want to avoid KYC, I don't think there are many other ways other than over-the-counter trades between individuals."

That said, hopefully p2p exchanges and atomic swaps become the norm soon.

Atomic swaps and outdated tax laws have the potential to wreck lives. The laws are idiotic indeed. To my knowledge, there is just one MP, Anna Kontula of Left Alliance who is trying to campaign for more reasonable treatment of crypto-assets. This is not the first time I notice her to have probably the most sense in her head out of all the MPs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81