On my way to Krakow! Steemfest³ here I come!


Ugh... woke up at 4:30 am because my first bus was at 5:47 am.

So far I've made it on time to all buses and trains.

Forgot to check the price of the train ticket. A great 47€ was the cost from Linz to Vienna... That's like double of the price for the flight from Vienna to Krakow and back. And 20€ more than what I was expecting.

Not to mention I was sitting on first class... So I had to move back to economy, otherwise they would have shaved me 80€ for this train. Whooooot!

Anyways...

Good times are a comin', I am sure!

Cheers

@greencross

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The shorter the distance, the greater the cost?

We had a business seminar in Stockholm not so long ago, a travel agency was tasked with organizing the transportation. On the outbound from Oslo we had to go by a too early morning flight, it was horrible. We had a bit more freedom with the return ticket, so I requested to return by train.

To get to Stockholm, we first needed to get to the Oslo airport, one of the most common ways to do that is to go by the airport express train.

The travel agency organized got first class tickets from Stockholm to Oslo. The price of the ticket was printed at the ticket, so I could see that my return train ticket was indeed more expensive than the outbound train ticket on the airport express train - but only some 30% more expensive!

Thanks for sharing your story @tobixen, it is indeed crazy how shorter distances are more expensive. Even with trains, it makes no sense to me. Maybe someone knowledgeable can get me out of my ignorance. But how come a ticket for train that travels for 200km can cost more than a flight if over 1000km?

I guess it's the perks of traveling :)

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95