You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road to SteemFest - Why I Will Visit Auschwitz - Part 1 - Hidden Family Connection

Interesting to read about a person who also do not seek these places of sorrow. I didn't go to the museum in Hiroshima. To me it was enough just being there, and I never went to any Kz-camp. For me it has been enough, more than enough to have talked to survivors, both from kz-camps and other terrible things happening back then.

When I grew up in the eighties it was still a big part of our lives. Our grandparents was a direct source. They had lived through the war and through them we learned the shame and sorrow. It made very deep impressions on my generation. I do tell my daughters about it and somehow I am frightened when I realise that all this slowly fades from our collective memory. I think we remember just as much by empathy as by intellect, and when the old die the strong feeling of sorrow and guilt dies with them and is not reflecting in our feelings any more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88