You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Road to SteemFest | My Trip Down Memory Lane

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago

Hi @slobberchops

I read this all the way through and I feel you m8. I had a very similar experience being a massive introvert who struggles to push myself out of a 'social anxiety' mind state (apart from when I drink which I can't often due to a chronic condition) a lot of the time.

When I say ‘mixed feelings’, there were times on ‘Day 2’ that I was standing around not knowing who to approach. Everyone seemed so engrossed and I felt like I would be breaking into private parties so to speak.

I struggled networking big time and although I had numerous meaningful conversations throughout, they were sparse and I spent a lot of time kind of milling around on my own.

It is an interesting thing you raise in this post; that steemfest is a challenge for an introvert. I feel a worthy challenge that is good to do, but still a challenge. I'm currently in the process of writing my roadtosteemfest post and this has made me think a little about mentioning these honest feelings of the challenges that go along with the great things about steemfest :-)

Sort:  

and I spent a lot of time kind of milling around on my own.

Well.. I thought it was just me. Did you go alone? If so.. I suppose it was even worse.. I came with my wife that time.

that steemfest is a challenge for an introvert.

It is, and a few have mentioned it now that I raised all this. We need to band together I think on the next one. Bangkok?

I was staying with anomadsoul and a bunch of others, including celestal + abh12345 in 'the frat house' as we called it. They were a friendly bunch and made me feel at home... my problem is I can't metabolize booze (or food) very well and when I got smashed on the first night, I kinda screwed myself for the rest of the trip. As they were all pretty heavy drinkers, I sort of missed out on a lot of fun in the evenings. This was all my own issues, which I have to deal with but that's why I ended up a little off on my own a lot of the time.

a few have mentioned it now that I raised all this. We need to band together I think on the next one. Bangkok?

If I make it to Bangkok, for sure it would be good for all the introverts to sort of identify each other so we can form a 'fatigue from networking' support group 😅

In all seriousness though, I mean that mate. I will be sure to seek you out slobberchops :)

As they were all pretty heavy drinkers, I sort of missed out on a lot of fun in the evenings.

Sounds like me, I cant drink more than one.. else I suffer badly the next day and cant sleep due to heartburn. Some of it is a getting old problem, but the heavy drinking.. I have never been able too.

sort of identify each other so we can form a 'fatigue from networking' support group 😅

Haha.. should we make a sign for this? It might look a little sad..

In all seriousness though, I mean that mate. I will be sure to seek you out slobberchops :)

Likewise.. I'm sure I saw you are SF3, the name does ring a bell from then.

(This is @slobberchops, BTW)...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67