You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road to Steemfest 3 (6): Funding my trip to Krakow

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

I'm pretty disappointed, seeing the photo and reading the title I was expecting to learn how far you had been biking yet :-)

You can do it in ten days if you bike 235.6 km pr day. With an average speed of 23.56 km/h, that's ten hours of biking per day. ;-)

Sort:  

Whoops! Not very far on that bike - it was the one stolen recently :(

10 days, is that all - now I'm half tempted. Pretty sure that 23.56 km would not be my average speed, and being 30 mins on a plane from mainland Spain puts a spanner in the works too :D

Hitch hike is faster, and works better (than biking) at sea. :)

I wonder if Lufthansa have an option for hitchhiker seating :)

Not sure if travelling for free with a passenger airplane (or a cargo plane) would work out in the present time, earlier it could probably work out if you just would ask the right people.

I do know people that have managed to hitchhike with private airplanes, and even cargo trains as well as cargo ships. One of them has done not only one but several trips around the globe by hitch hiking - the Bering straight was covered by hitchhiking with a private airplane.

What you can do is to walk to the nearest marina and ask if anyone is sailing to the mainland (we've had hitchers with us that way). Or, you can try to do it through Internet through sites like crewbay or findacrew.

Last hitcher I served ... that was epic, I will write a separate post on that soon. She came swimming while we were by anchor.

Hitch-hiking has much longer traditions than the cars after all :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81