Let's talk about: Evanescence "Bring me to Life"

in #rock6 years ago (edited)


A cordial greeting to all those good people of that Steemit Community.

Today I will review one of the favorite Audiovisual Productions for me, it is nothing more and nothing less than Bring Me to Life.

Bring Me to Life is the Debut single from the outstanding American rock band Evanescence. Initially, this single is included in his Fallen Album (2003-2004) thanks to which this band became known around the world after the release of their Origin albums and their EP (Extended Play) demo Sound Asleep. The song Bring Me To Life is part of the original soundtrack of the movie Daredevil and, since its release to the record market has become the most successful single of this band, having managed to sell the amount of seven million copies in the world whole, being the most sold single of 2003.

As for its musical dimension, in general, we can say that its melodic and harmonic structure projects a Nu Metal style, that is, a combination of Rap and Heavy Metal. In this song, from the beginning a feeling of mystery, loneliness and insecurity is created that little by little is cleared to give place to a great tension that only grows until collapsing in the choir after a small silence. Her lyrics try to put us, as we would say vulgarly, in the "skin" of a depressed person who feels empty, and needs someone to save her from the darkness and falsehood of life.

The Videoclip has some tones that point slightly to the gray, this surely to emphasize the feeling of mystery. At the beginning you can see the singer of the group, Amy Lee, sleeping in a bed, violently struggling because of a nightmare in which building is thrown down and falling. When he wakes up, he opens the window and starts walking around the building's mantelpiece while he sings, during which time he can discover that the building is full of different stories. On the other hand you can see Paul McCoy and all the Christian Band 12 Stones two floors above, playing in a soundproof room. Amy begins to climb the corners of the shelves of the building, to where Paul McCoy and the Band are, who continue to sing and play, until Paul sees Amy, opens his window and Amy slips and is subject to the ledge of the window. Paul goes outside and takes Amy's arm so he does not fall. In this scene, Paul enters entirely into the song and both begin to sing, as if they were talking to each other. Finally, when it seems that Paul saves her, Amy falls from the building, just as in her dream, while Paul and the rest of the band lament. In the final scene, Amy can be seen sleeping in her bed again, which suggests that everything that happened had been no more than a dream.

The lyrics of this song were written by David Hodges, Ben Moody and the vocalist of the group, Amy Lee, who also sings it, in collaboration with Paul McCoy of the 12 Stones Christian Band, due to the demands of the record company (it should be noted that the Banda did not agree with the idea of including an extra, but they had to accept it).

Originally, Mike Shinoda from Linkin Park was called to accompany the vocalist, since the band was recording the Disco Meteora in the same studio, although the final version was recorded with Paul McCoy. He also did a mash-up with the voices of rappers Eminem and Tupac. The video clip was directed by Philip Stolzl.

Hoping that this information will give you a little more understanding about this musical work and, at the same time, be liked by all of you.

Sebastian Padilla

Bring me to Life

How can you see into my eyes like open doors?
Leading you down, into my core
Where I've become so numb, without a soul
My spirit's sleeping somewhere cold
Until you find it there, and lead it, back, home

Wake me up inside
Wake me up inside
Call my name and save me from the dark
Bid my blood to run
Before I come undone
Save me from the nothing I've become

Now that I know what I'm without
You can't just leave me
Breathe into me and make me real
Bring me to life

Wake me up inside
Wake me up inside
Call my name and save me from the dark
Bid my blood to run
Before I come undone
Save me from the nothing I've become
Bring me to life
Bring me to life

Frozen inside, without your touch
Without your love, darling
Only you are my life
Among the dead
I've been sleeping a thousand years it seems
Got to open my eyes to everything
Don't let me die here
Bring, me, to, life

Wake me up inside
Wake me up inside
Call my name and save me from the dark
Bid my blood to run
Before I come undone
Save me from the nothing I've become

Bring me to life
Bring me to life
Bring me to life

Source consulted
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bring_Me_to_Life#Video

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66