Sometimes Adulting is Hard - Why I'm Missing Viva Las Vegas

in #rockabilly6 years ago

@donvee and I had our plans set. I took two weeks off from work and he cleared his calendar. We were going to Las Vegas for the Viva Las Vegas Rockabilly Weekend!

IMG_20151125_225521.jpg
^the last time I saw Brian Setzer

We were going to drive from Pennsylvania to Las Vegas, stopping in Denver, Colorado to visit family along the way. After Viva, we go to Palm Springs and Joshua Tree, then three days at the Grand Canyon on our way home. It would be a hell of a road trip.

Screenshot_20180420-231400~2.png

The "Dark Pinup" book release party for our friend, @kommienezuspadt would be Thursday night. We'd tour the Neon Museum, attend the car show, see the Stray Cats and Jerry Lee Lewis, the burlesque competition, bowling, the pool party!!!

Then reality set in.

I have obligations. Money and time are limited. We purchased a second house with the intention to fix it up and sell or rent more than a few years ago. It's almost finished, but after it was broken into and theives stole the copper pipes, I lost all momentum. My husband has too many projects, including some at the home we live in. The house is paid off, except for taxes and fees for garbage and sewer, so it really got put on the back burner.

We decided that we need to get this place out of our lives. I want it on the market to sell in June. I am taking a week off from work to do whatever I can to get it finished.

I hope everyone enjoys Viva this year. I'll be checking out everyone's outfits online and listening to some rockabilly in my car. I'll miss that cute little apple pie baked in a skillet at the Wicked Spoon. I won't get to see Absinthe. In end, I know that the work we put in to the house will be worth it when I'm signing the sales agreement. But for now, adulting sucks.

IMAG1741-EFFECTS.jpg

Sort:  

Adulting is garbage. Hopefully the house will sell quickly and you can use the profits to take your amazing road trip next year.

I agree. Adulting IS garbage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66503.40
ETH 3078.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70